Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Marketing

This guide is prepared for Stetson students researching business topics related to marketing.

Industry codes

  • Industrial classification codes (SIC and NAICS) are used to organize industry data and documents into broad topical areas. Mergent Online, Mergent First Research, Mergent Intellect, LexisNexis, ABI/INFORM and Business Source Premier databases have industry code look-up functions. The look-up functions allow you to search code descriptions by keyword, then select classifications codes from a list. Industry classification codes are useful to limit search results to a specific industry, to locate companies within an industry, to find industry analysis reports and industry statistics.
  • Industry codes serve to define broad topical areas such as a management function, an industry, a market, or an organization type. For example, NAICS Code 5418 covers Advertising, Public Relations, and Related Services. In the ABI/INFORM business database, clicking on “Look up classification codes” will open a list of broad categories and nested sub-categories. Check boxes are provided to limit your search results to specific industries, markets or management functions.

Mergent First Research - Industry Profiles

The Mergent First Research database contains detailed industry profiles prepared by Mergent's industry analysts. From the library's homepage select the Databases tab then select Mergent First Research from the Browse list of Databases by Title.

Click Continue, Continue, then Submit to arrive at the search page pictured below. Enter a keyword to find the related industry codes and reports.

 

Mergent First Research Industry Profile - Citation examples

Journal articles and news articles retrieved from the Mergent databases are cited according to the format style guidelines you are using for your research paper. See the Citations Libguide for details: http://guides.stetson.edu/Citations

General Guidelines for Citing Mergent Online as a Source

MLA

If there are no authors or editors listed for the data or report you retrieved, use the MLA guidelines for citing an entire Website. Since there are no authors or editors listed for the database use Mergent, Inc. as the corporate author, the date of the report, and the date accessed.

Example:

     Mergent, Inc. Mergent Online. DuPont-Ball LIbrary, Stetson University, 4 Nov. 2013. Web. 10 Feb. 2014.

             <http://www.mergentonline.com/FirstResearch>

 

APA

In most cases you will use the following to cite Mergent Online as your source if you are using APA style.  APA refers to non-peer-reviewed work, such as reports, brochures, fact sheets, press releases, and newsletter articles as “gray literature.” List as many of the following elements as are available.

Author’s name

Date of publication (if there is no date, use “n.d.”)

Title of document (in italics)

A URL that will take readers directly to the source

Give your date of access only if the source itself has no date.

 Example:

     (2013, November). Industry Profile: Advertising & Marketing Services. Retrieved February 10, 2014, from

             http://www.mergentonline.com/FirstResearch

 

 

IBISWorld

IBISWorld provides industry reports for hundreds of industries.

These comprehensive research reports contain trends, statistics, and analyses on market size, market share of competitors and industry growth rates. Each study includes an overview of the supply chain, key success factors, barriers to entry, and operating conditions.

You can search either by NIACS code, keyword, or by browsing the collection of reports.

When you type in a keyword for an industry, such as the search for "clothes" below, IBISWorld will offer several results in the dropdown as well as an option to "View More Results." 

When you choose "View More Results," you will have many options. Choosing appropriate industry keywords will help you find the results you seek. It may take a few attempts.  

Here is the specialized industry of Pizza Restaurants in the US.

Notice the comprehensive data on the left. You have access to in-depth analysis as well as an overview of any industry with key statistics and analysis on market characteristics, operating conditions, current and forecast performance, major industry participants and more.

 

Websites

Have a question? Ask a librarian! Call or text 386-747-9028.