Guides: Food and Cooking: Finding journals, encyclopedias, and databases

eJournal, eMagazine

Cuizine: the journal of Canadian food cultures = revue des cultures culinaires au Canada.
"The Journal of Canadian Food Cultures / Revue des cultures culinaires au Canada nourishes intellectual exchanges on the subject of food in Canada from multicultural perspectives."
Gastronomica : the journal of critical food studies
"Peer reviewed, interdisciplinary and international publishing critical studies of foods."
Journal of Functional Foods
"JFF (Journal of Functional Foods) aims to bring together the results of fundamental and applied research into healthy foods and biologically active food ingredients. The Journal is centered in the specific area at the boundaries among food science, nutrition and health, welcoming papers having a good interdisciplinary approach."

Dictionaries & Encyclopedias

Oxford Encyclopedia of Food and Drink in America by Andrew F. Smith
ISBN: 9780195187595
Publication Date: 2004
Presenting some 800 separate entries, this encyclopedia explores the food, cookery styles & dining traditions that are significant for Americans.
Oxford Encyclopedia of Food and Drink in America, The (2 ed.) by Andrew Smith (Editor)
ISBN: 9780199739226
Publication Date: 2012
The second edition of The Oxford Encyclopedia of Food and Drink in America thoroughly updates the original, award-winning title, while capturing the shifting American perspective on food and ensuring that this title is the most authoritative, current reference work on American cuisine.
A Dictionary of Food and Nutrition (4 ed.)
ISBN: 9780191752391
Publication Date: 2014
This dictionary offers jargon-free entries on food, nutrition, diet, and health that clearly explain even the most technical of nutritional terms. From abalone to zymogens, its coverage spans types of food (including both everyday and little-known foods), nutritional information, vitamins, minerals, and key scientific areas including metabolism and genomics.
A Dictionary of Japanese Food by Richard Hosking
ISBN: 9781462903436
Publication Date: 2014
Nominated for the Glenfiddich Food Book of the Year Award, this timeless volume is the first and only book of its kind on the subject. A Dictionary of Japanese Food helps food lovers around the world decipher the intricacies and nuances of Japanese cooking and its ingredients.

Databases

Gale OneFile: Culinary Arts This link opens in a new window
Access to academic journals and magazines on all aspects of cooking and nutrition. The database includes thousands of searchable recipes, restaurant reviews, and industry information.

The African American Experience
Database with digital resources on food and cooking as part of the African American culture.
The American Indian Experience
Database with narratives and reference entries related to cooking and American Indian Removal to Oklahoma.
Daily Life Through History
Database with digital resources that can be browsed by historical era or time period and subject.

Database Search Tips

1. Start by identifying the major concepts, themes, works, or authors that you want to research. These are your keywords. Only type your keywords into the search box -- don't type in an entire thesis statement or research question.

2. Most of the time, you'll either have too many search results to sort through, or too few to choose from. Use the following tips to expand or limit your search results as needed. These tips should work in most library databases. Some databases have additional or different tips you can try. When you're in a database, look for a link labeled "Help" or "Search Help" for information specific to that database.

Food and Cooking

Ask A Librarian

eJournal, eMagazine

Dictionaries & Encyclopedias

Databases

Database Search Tips

Have a question? Ask a librarian! Email libref@stetson.edu. Call or text 386-747-9028.