Guides: Food and Cooking: Finding books, eBooks, and articles

Cookbooks and Culinary Arts books

Print
eBooks

The 5-Ingredient College Cookbook by Pamela Ellgen
Call Number: TX833.7 .E45 2017 - New Books (Main Library)
ISBN: 9781623158576
Publication Date: 2017-02-21
More than 100 tasty and affordable 5-ingredient recipes for busy college students. College students don't typically have a lot of time, money, or kitchen space to get fancy with their meals--which means good and cheap is the name of the game.
How to Feed Yourself by Spoon University
Call Number: TX833.5 .H677 2018 - New Books (Main Library)
ISBN: 9780525573739
Publication Date: 2018-12-04
Spoon University has an incredibly engaged following of young adults, both online and on the 300+ college campuses where they have a network of 11,000 student contributors who create content for the website and run Spoon University clubs, holding monthly local events like dinner parties.
Bao by Erchen Chang; Shing Tat Chung; Wai Ting Chung
- This link opens in a new window
Call Number: TX724.5.C5 C48115 2023 - Shelves (Main Library)
ISBN: 9781838666200
Publication Date: 2023-04-05
The first cookbook from London's cult favorite restaurant BAO offers a taste of Taiwanese food culture with 100 signature recipes for steamed buns, noodles, xiao chi, fried chicken, and more. Since its humble beginnings as a London food stall, BAO has amassed a cult following of hungry fans with its Taiwanese-inspired cuisine and sleek design sensibility. BAO's first book reveals the top-secret recipes behind 100 of its most beloved dishes - from the traditional steamed buns of its name to Taiwanese fried chicken, soul-warming beef noodles, snack-size xiao chi, and more.
Gastro Obscura by Cecily Wong; Dylan Thuras; Atlas Obscura
Call Number: TX737 .W66 2021 - Shelves (Main Library)
ISBN: 9781523502196
Publication Date: 2021-10-12
A New York Times, USA Today, and national indie bestseller. A Feast of Wonder! Created by the ever-curious minds behind Atlas Obscura, this breathtaking guide transforms our sense of what people around the world eat and drink. Covering all seven continents, Gastro Obscura serves up a loaded plate of incredible ingredients, food adventures, and edible wonders.
The Jemima Code by Toni Tipton-Martin
Call Number: TX715.2 .A47 T57 2015 - Shelves (Main Library)
ISBN: 9780292745483
Publication Date: 2015-09-20
Winner, James Beard Foundation Book Award, 2016 Art of Eating Prize, 2015 BCALA Outstanding Contribution to Publishing Citation, Black Caucus of the American Library Association, 2016 Women of African descent have contributed to America's food culture for centuries, but their rich and varied involvement is still overshadowed by the demeaning stereotype of an illiterate "Aunt Jemima" who cooked mostly by natural instinct.
The Korean Vegan Cookbook by Joanne Lee Molinaro
Call Number: TX724.5.K65 L48 2021 - Shelves (Main Library)
ISBN: 9780593084274
Publication Date: 2021-10-12
THE INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER . NAMED ONE OF THE BEST NEW COOKBOOKS OF THE YEAR BY Epicurious . EATER . Stained Page . Infatuation . Spruce Eats . Publisher's Weekly . Food52 .

Cooking with the Oldest Foods on Earth by John Newton
ISBN: 9781742249179
Publication Date: 2020-02-01
Native produce business is booming and it's about to enter a new phase--Australian native ingredients are beginning to turn up in growers' markets and even local supermarkets. From Warrigal greens and saltbush, to kangaroo and yabbies--John Newton will inspire you to grab some and take it home.
Culinary Art and Anthropology by Joy Adapon
ISBN: 9781847884558
Publication Date: 2008-08-01
Culinary Art and Anthropology is an anthropological study of food. It focuses on taste and flavour using an original interpretation of Alfred Gell's theory of the 'art nexus'. Grounded in ethnography, it explores the notion of cooking as an embodied skill and artistic practice. The integral role and concept of 'flavour' in everyday life is examined among cottage industry barbacoa makers in Milpa Alta, an outer district of Mexico City.
The Science of Cooking by Joseph J. Provost; Keri L. Colabroy; Brenda S. Kelly; Mark A. Wallert
ISBN: 9781119210337
The Science of Cooking. The first textbook that teaches biology and chemistry through the enjoyable and rewarding means of cooking. The Science of Cooking is a textbook designed for nonscience majors or liberal studies science courses, that covers a range of scientific principles of food, cooking, and the science of taste and smell.
Food by Jean-Louis Flandrin (Editor); Massimo Montanari (Editor); Albert Sonnenfeld (Translator)
ISBN: 9780231544092
Publication Date: 1999-11-23
When did we first serve meals at regular hours? Why did we begin using individual plates and utensils to eat? When did "cuisine" become a concept and how did we come to judge food by its method of preparation, manner of consumption, and gastronomic merit? Food: A Culinary History explores culinary evolution and eating habits from prehistoric times to the present, offering surprising insights into our social and agricultural practices, religious beliefs, and most unreflected habits.
Food Instagram by Emily J. H. Contois (Editor)
ISBN: 9780252053467
Winner of the 2023 Association for the Study of Food and Society Book Prize for Edited Volume Image by image and hashtag by hashtag, Instagram has redefined the ways we relate to food.
Make It Safe by Csiro Food CSIRO Food and Nutritional Sciences
ISBN: 9780643100237
Make It Safe provides practical guidance on how to control food safety hazards, with a specific focus on controls suitable for small-scale businesses to implement. Small businesses make up around two-thirds of businesses in Australia's food and beverage manufacturing industry.
The Taste of Art : Cooking, Food, and Counterculture in Contemporary Practices
ISBN: 9781610756075
his book offers a sample of scholarly essays that examine the role of food in Western contemporary art practices. The contributors are scholars from a range of disciplines, including art history, philosophy, film studies, and history. As a whole, the volume illustrates how artists engage with food as matter and process in order to explore alternative aesthetic strategies and indicate countercultural shifts in society.

Find books, articles, videos, and more with OneSearch

OneSearch This link opens in a new window
Filter to Stetson Library to search the collections of the duPont-Ball Library.

1. Limit to a particular type of information source before searching or search Everything.

2. Change the drop-down menu to Stetson if you you want to limit to items accessible through our library.

eBook Collections

As more and more libraries acquire digital content, you will likely find eBooks in your search results. eBook content can be published more quickly than print books, and there is a trend to package conference proceedings in the eBook format. For topics found among emerging trends in technology, this means more resources are available in a timely fashion.

These are the providers of eBooks available to the Stetson community:

ProQuest eBook Central
This collection of authoritative eBooks in a range of subjects from top publishers.
Ebsco eBooks
From the search boxes, enter a search term, a title, or author name, OR browse through the categories on the left hand side panel.
Gale eBooks
A searchable, full-text database of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources.
Credo Reference
A starting point for research and learning that offers unlimited access to hundreds of full text reference books on every subject. Includes encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri and books of quotations.
Oxford Reference Online
Contains over 100 dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works published by Oxford University Press. Also includes the Oxford Companions Series.

Food and Cooking

Where to find Books in the Library

Cookbooks and Culinary Arts books

Find books, articles, videos, and more with OneSearch

eBook Collections

These are the providers of eBooks available to the Stetson community:

Have a question? Ask a librarian! Email libref@stetson.edu. Call or text 386-747-9028.