Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

SocINDEX: What It Is and How to Use It

Indexes the major literature in the field of sociology.

Listing of Cited References and Times Cited Attached to an Article

Note that in the SocINDEX database, many (not all) articles (even those that do not have the full text attached) have a link to their cited references (their bibliographies), and they tell you how many times an article has been cited in the SocINDEX database. 

This can be a great tool for other researchers since it's often helpful to note who the authors of an article are citing and who is citing the article you are looking at. Simply click on the link to Cited References to get to the list of references or the link to Times Cited in This Database to see who has cited that article. 

Cited References, Images, and Indexes under "More"

Cited References

The SocINDEX database allows searchers to look directly for who has cited a certain reference.  You can search for a cited reference by a cited author, the cited title of a journal article or report,  the cited title of a journal, a cited year, or some element in all citation fields (such as a publisher or the name of a university).

Click on More at the top of the SoxINDEX search page.  Then click on Cited Reference.  Type the information in the appropriate box in order to find out who (if anyone) has cited a particular author, or a particular article. For example, to see who might have cited Dr. John K. Schorr's work, type Dr. Schorr's name in the cited author box. Then click on Search.

Five results come up.  To see those five results, check the box next to the ones you want to find, then click on Find Citing Articles.  

Images

Under More at the top of the SocINDEX search page is a search for Images.  Click on Images, then make the selections you want, enter the search term(s) you want, then click on Search. 

Indexes

Also under More is a link to the database's Indexes: authors, keywords, reviews and products, etc.  Click on More, then on Indexes.  Choose the index you want to browse from the drop-down menu.  Type in the word or phrase you want to search, then click on Browse(See the screen shot below.)

 

Have a question? Ask a librarian! Email libref@stetson.edu. Call or text 386-747-9028.