SocINDEX Database: How to use it

Members of the Stetson community may create an EBSCO account [free] to access additional features of SocINDEX and other EBSCO databases. Click on MyEBSCO in the top right-hand corner of the page, then Sign in to MyEbsco. The user name and password you create will be common across all EBSCO databases.

This account allows you to save preferences, organize your research with folders, share them with others, save and retrieve your search history, and create email alerts or RSS feeds when new results are indexed that match your search terms.

Once you have identified an article in the Result List that you want to keep for your research, you can save, share, or download the record. If you want to add your record to your project, you can set up a project folder to keep your records organized. 

Refer to visual aids below.

WARNING: Your folder will not be saved after closing the browser window UNLESS you create a (free) account and sign in.

To access the records in your folder, click on the Projects icon. 

You can also edit or delete records in your project. 

See the Tools panel on the right-hand side of a record to access options for printing/saving/emailing items.

Add to Projects: save items to your projects within MLA. You must be signed into your MLA/EBSCO account.

Print: allows you to print info about the record. Note that you will need to open the PDF in order to print the entire article.

Email: send yourself the info about the record. If the PDF Full Text is attached to the record, it will automatically be attached to the email. 

Save: this will give you a version of the record info that you can download as an HTML file.

Listen: click the headphones icon to hear and audio via text to speech reader. 

Cite: view a list of citations in various citation formats. Note there may be errors so it is important to proofread citations if you copy and paste them into a graded assignment.

Export: allows you to send the citation to a citation management tool, such as Refworks or Easybib.

Create Note: notes will only be saved if you are signed in to your MLA/EBSCO account.

Permalink: provides you with a direct link to the record.

Share: share a link to the record on Facebook, Twitter, Tumblr, and more.

Related Items: to search articles related to your topic, look at the recommendations offered under Related Items.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

You can print the full text from the article viewer in the EBSCO user interfaces. 

To print an article's full text: 

Click on the access now PDF icon to open the full article.

From the article full text, there are different options in the top panel that allows the user to share, email, download, and print the article.