Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

SocINDEX: What It Is and How to Use It

Indexes the major literature in the field of sociology.

What is SocINDEX?

SocINDEX with full-text offers coverage of the scholarly literature from all subdisciplines of sociology, including abortion, anthropology, criminology, criminal justice, cultural sociology, demography, economic development, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, politics, religion, rural sociology, social psychology, social structure, social work, sociological theory, sociology of education, substance abuse, urban studies, violence, welfare, and many others.

The database indexes more than 450 priority coverage journals as well as 2900 selective coverage journals, with abstracts for more than 1300 core coverage journals dating back to 1895.

Connect to SocIndex (opens in a new tab)

In addition, indexing for books, monographs, conference papers, and other sources is included. Searchable cited references are also provided.

To see a list of the publications included in the SocINDEX database, click on Publications at the top of the page.  You will then see an alphabetical list of publications included in the database.  On the Browse line, you can type in the name of a specific publication you'd like to find. 


NOTE:
 You must be connected to Stetson's Network in order to access any of the Library's subscription databases (SocINDEX is a subscription database). If you are not working from a computer on campus, you will have to enter the network through a proxy server.

Have a question? Ask a librarian! Email libref@stetson.edu. Call or text 386-747-9028.