Check out the Research Skills Toolkit. This is your resource for library research tips and information literacy skills.
How did the library session go? Let us know! This survey is intended for you to fill out after a librarian visits your class. Click the link below to begin:
This guide is designed to help you navigate library databases, tools, and services to support your research in The Art of Public Explanation (AMST/HIST294B). Use the resources below to get started. Explore the additional resources on the left to get the most from this guide!
The library is here to support you research process. Librarians are happy to answer any questions or provide additional help.
1. Limit to a particular type of information source before searching or search Everything.
2. Change the drop-down menu to Stetson if you you want to limit to items accessible through our library.
Consider using encyclopedias and other reference sources when you begin researching a topic. Some encyclopedias will provide more in-depth information than others, but any general encyclopedia is a good source to consult for background information of your chosen subject area. Most encyclopedias provide:
This link opens in a new window
A starting point for research and learning that offers unlimited access to hundreds of full text reference books on every subject. Includes encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri and books of quotations.
Contains over 100 dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works published by Oxford University Press. Also includes the Oxford Companions Series.
Explore tens of thousands of articles, videos, primary sources and journals/periodicals. Browse popular topics, news, biographies, and more! This is a great resource for getting research started or getting more acquainted with a particular topic.
A multidisciplinary database with full-text articles in the arts, business, health, medicine, history, science, technology, social sciences. Includes scholarly articles, professional publication, and magazines.
Covers hot-topic social issues, from Offshore Drilling to Climate Change, Health Care to Immigration. Provides informed, differing views on each side of an issue.
News, business and legal sources from LexisNexis. newspapers, magazines, and some journals. Coverage includes general news topics; foreign language news; company, industry, and market news; legal news; general health topics; accounting/tax info; government topics.
An archive of scholarly journals. Content spans many disciplines, primarily in the humanities and social sciences. The most recent 3-5 years of journals are generally not available. JSTOR has a number of other collections to which we do not subscribe. Provided through a cooperative agreement with Stetson's College of Law Library.
Not finding what you're looking for? Try our A-Z Database List:
1. Start by identifying the major concepts, themes, works, or authors that you want to research. These are your keywords. Only type your keywords into the search box- don't try to type in an entire thesis statement or research question.
2. Most of the time, you'll either have too many search results to sort through, or too few to choose from. Use the following tips to expand or limit your search results as needed. These tips should work in most library databases. Some databases have additional or different tips you can try. When you're in a database, look for a link labeled "Help" or "Search Help" for information specific to that database.
| When you’ve found one good source, try this: | |
|---|---|
| Subject headings | Does the database list any subject headings to your source? Click on these links to find more. |
| Reference List | Browse your source’s reference list or bibliography to find additional sources on the same topic. |
| Who’s cited this? | Use Google Scholar or Web of Science to find sources that have cited your source since it was published. |
| Author | Has the same author published additional material on the topic. |
Let's explore the recommended resources and share what we find! Click the link below: