Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

The Holocaust

This guide provides links to resources that may be useful in researching topics related to the Holocaust.

Database Search Tips

Use the following tips to expand or limit your search results as needed. These tips should work in most library databases. Some databases have additional or different tips you can try. When you're in a database, look for a link labeled "Help" or "Search Help" for information specific to that database.

Did you get too many search results? Try this:
Add additional keywords- (ex: college AND stress AND academics)
Choose more specific search terms- (ex: hiking AND DeLand instead of hiking AND central Florida)
Exclude words from your search results- (ex: travel NOT “time travel”)
Use search filters­- limit by source type, date of publication, language, subject, & more.
Choice of database- select a database with a narrower scope of subject matter
Search by subject- search for your terms as a subject instead of as a keyword

 

Didn't get enough search results? Try this:

Choice of keywords- choosing the right keywords is key. Try experimenting with different terms. (ex: Movie OR cinema OR film OR motion picture)
Too narrow topic- try looking for sources on a broader, related topic (ex: hiking AND central Florida instead of hiking AND DeLand)
Too many search terms- begin with 1-2 search terms that best represent your topic, then add more as needed. Avoid long phrases.
Too many search filters- avoid using any filters that are unnecessary
Choice of database- select a database with a broader scope of subject matter
Use wildcard & truncation symbols*#? Allow you to search for multiple spellings of a term

 

Citation Tracing

When you've found one source on your topic, citation tracing is a great way to find additional sources. Citation tracing refers to both finding the references cited in your source, and finding new sources that have cited your source since its publication. 

1. To find and access the references cited in your source, use the Journals List to check library access for articles and Worldcat to check for books. 

2. To find out which books and articles have cited your source since its publication, copy and paste the title into Google Scholar. Find your source in the list of search results, then look for a link labeled Cited by #. Next to each result, look for a link labeled Find it @ Stetson Library for full-text access. As always, any content that we do not have can be requested through Interlibrary Loan.

Have a question? Ask a librarian! Email libref@stetson.edu. Call or text 386-747-9028.