Guides: SOCI 391: Examining a Pandemic: Home

Welcome

This guide describes useful research resources for students in SOCI 391.

The library is here to support you in all your research endeavors. Librarians are happy to answer any questions or provide additional help.

Ask a Librarian
Call or text 386-747-9028 or email libref@stetson.edu with any questions.
Request a Research Consultation
Set up a one-on-one appointment with a librarian for personalized research assistance.

Find peer-reviewed sources

SocINDEX with Full Text (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
A sociology research database with full-text for many journals dating back to 1895.
PubMed Central This link opens in a new window
PMC is a free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM).
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
An archive of scholarly journals. Content spans many disciplines, primarily in the humanities and social sciences. The most recent 3-5 years of journals are generally not available. JSTOR has a number of other collections to which we do not subscribe. Provided through a cooperative agreement with Stetson's College of Law Library.
ProQuest Research Library This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary database with full-text articles in the arts, business, health, medicine, history, science, technology, social sciences. Includes scholarly articles, professional publication, and magazines.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Interdisciplinary database includes: Arts and Humanities Citation Index, Science Citation Index Expanded, and Social Sciences Citation Index. Includes citation searching (see how many times a paper has been cited). Coverage: 2000 - present.
Academic Search Complete (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
A broad, general full-text database that includes both popular and scholarly periodicals. It covers virtually all academic areas of study, including social sciences, sciences, and humanities.

List of all databases

Citation Resources

RefWorks This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A research management, writing and collaboration tool designed to help researchers gather, organize, store and share all types of information and to generate citations and bibliographies. Group code: RWStetsonU.
Note to legacy RefWorks Users: As of June 30, 2023, legacy RefWorks is deactivated.

ASA

• American Sociological Association Style Guide, 6th ed.: Reference HM569 .A54 2019
Closely resembles APA style in formatting and use of parenthetical references.

Quick Tips for ASA Style, 5th ed.

From the American Sociological Association

Chicago

Chicago Manual of Style
Electronic version of the 17th and 16th editions of the Chicago Manual of Style.

The Chicago Manual of Style, 16th ed. by University of Chicago Staff (Editor)
Call Number: Ready Reference (@ Front Desk) Z253 .U69 2010

Publication Date: 2010

Chicago Manual of Style Online - Citation Quick Guide

SOCI 391: Examining a Pandemic

Survey

Full Text Access

Welcome

Find peer-reviewed sources

Citation Resources

Have a question? Ask a librarian! Email libref@stetson.edu. Call or text 386-747-9028.