Online access to the ninth edition of the MLA Handbook.
The go-to resource for writers of research papers and anyone citing sources is now available online. MLA Handbook Plus includes the full text of the ninth edition of the handbook, the first editions of both the MLA Guide to Digital Literacy and the MLA Guide to Undergraduate Research in Literature, and a video course that teaches the principles of MLA documentation style through a series of short videos paired with quizzes, plus a final assessment.
The Library's collections of children's, juvenile, and young adult literature is located in the Children's Literature Corner at the end of the literature section, in the north wing of the top floor.
More than 4,500 volumes are located here, all of which are identified with "Juvenile" as the first part of the call number. Young Adult books occupy their own shelving section, with YA stickers to distinguish them.
The Library collects this kind of literature primarily to support the curriculum of the Education Department and to provide resources for dependents of University staff, faculty, and alumni.
More extensive collections of children's literature may be found at the DeLand Public Library. All Stetson students, regardless of permanent home address, will be issued on request, at no charge, a Volusia County Public Library card, and may check books, videos, and recordings out from any library in the County system.
The Library's collection for children's literature includes nonfiction as well as fictional and poetic works. All of the books in the Juvenile collection can be found using the Library's OneSearch page.
The library dedicated the northeast mezzanine corner as the Children's Literature Corner on April 28, 2018 - generously funded by alumna Jean Greenlaw.
If you want a fictional book for children which deals with a particular topic, add the phrase "juvenile fiction" to your subject term:
To expand your access to children's literature, in English and many other languages, use the WorldCat database. Click the link below for a Research Guide.
Books located in WorldCat can be borrowed at no cost to you through the Library's interlibrary service.
Also, if you see a book of interest on WorldCat, check on Amazon to see if the book is listed with the "Look Inside" feature (mouse over to the cover of the book). If it is, you may be able to read substantial portions of the book online, at no cost, on Amazon.
This link opens in a new windowThe best periodical databases for articles on children's literature are listed below.
This link opens in a new windowThe Educational Resource Information Center (ERIC) is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education to provide access to education-related literature including education-related journals, books, theses, curricula, conference papers, and standards and guidelines. Coverage from 1961-present.
The leading international index of journals, books, dissertations, and more on literature, language and linguistics, folklore, literary theory and criticism, and dramatic arts, as well as the historical aspects of printing and publishing.
A literature reference database that includes biographical, bibliographical, and critical content. The LRC is built on the Gale Group three author databases: Contemporary Authors Online, Contemporary Literary Criticism Select and Dictionary of Literary Biography Online.
Use the "Search Everything" search on the Library's homepage as an additional way to search for articles and other sources on children's literature.
Type in the terms or topic or interest. Example: feminist children's literature.