Guides: Economics: Find Data &amp; Statistics

Finding statistics

Statista This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Statistics and studies gathered by market researchers, trade organizations, scientific publications, and government sources on over 600 industries.

Edgar Database - Securities & Exchange Commission Filings
"All companies, foreign and domestic, are required to file registration statements, periodic reports, and other forms electronically through EDGAR. Anyone can access and download this information for free. Here you'll find links to a complete list of filings available through EDGAR and instructions for searching the EDGAR database." www.sec.gov/edgar.shtml

International Financial Statistics This link opens in a new window
IFS is a standard source of international statistics on all aspects of international and domestic finance. It reports current data needed in the analysis of problems of international payments and of inflation and deflation. Contains time series data since 1948.

- - - - Using the IFS database
This guide provides Stetson students with instructions for accessing and searching the International Monetary Fund's International Financial Statistics (IFS) database.

Statistical Abstract of the U.S. This link opens in a new window
The Statistical Abstract of the United States is a comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States.
UN Data This link opens in a new window
Search all publicly-available UN databases at a single entry point. Also includes International Financial Statistics, World Development Indicators, OECD data, LABORSTA, & Key Indicators of the Labour Market.
World Development Indicators This link opens in a new window
World Development Indicators Online is a database of statistics from the World Bank’s Data Group. It provides high quality national and international statistics for users worldwide and lets users assess what governments do by accessing reliable data.

Pew Research Center - Tools & Resources
Digital tools and resources to access Pew Research Center data.

U.S. Economy Resources

About Economic Indicators
The Economics and Statistics Administration (ESA) releases 12 monthly and quarterly Principal Federal Economic Indicators collected by the U.S. Census Bureau and the Bureau of Economic Analysis (BEA).
Bureau of Economic Analysis - National Economic Accounts
Contains Gross Domestic Product (GDP), Personal Income and Outlays, Corporate Profits, Government Current Receipts and Expenditures.
Bureau of Labor Statistics
Contains data on employment and unemployment, inflation and prices, pay and benefits, spending and time use, productivity and workplace injuries.
Economic Census - U.S. Census Bureau
The Economic Census is the U.S. Government's official five-year measure of American business and the economy. It is conducted by the U.S. Census Bureau, and response is required by law.
Economic Indicators - U.S. Census Bureau
Contains current releases and historic time series for the following indicators: New Residential Construction, Manufacturing and Trade Inventories and Sales, Advance Monthly Sales for Retail and Food Services, Monthly Wholesale Trade, U.S. International Trade in Goods and Services, Manufacturers’ Shipments Inventories and Orders, Construction Spending, Advance U.S. International Trade in Goods, Homeownership Rate, Rental Vacancy Rate, Advance Report on Durable Goods, New Residential Sales, Quarterly Retail Trade Report, Quarterly Manufacturing Report, and Quarterly Services Survey.
Federal Reserve Board
Contains information on monetary policy, banking regulations, financial information for consumers, and working papers on a broad range of topics in economics and finance.

Global Economies Resources

Eurostat
Detailed statistics on the European Union (EU) and candidate countries, and various statistical publications for sale.
The International Monetary Fund
The IMF web site is a rich source of economic data, research reports and working papers.
BEA International Trade and Investment Country Facts
International Trade and Investment Country Facts provides statistics on trade and investment between the United States and another country. A world map makes it easy to access country factsheets containing charts that can be printed or downloaded to a spreadsheet. The new data tool pulls statistics from BEA’s international data sets on exports, imports, direct investment, and the activities of multinational enterprises.

Global Economic Monitor This link opens in a new window
Provides daily updates of global economic developments, with coverage of high income as well as developing countries.
Daily data is provided for exchange rates, equity markets, interest rates, stripped bond spreads, commodity prices and emerging market bond indices. Monthly data coverage is provided for consumer prices, high-tech market indicators, industrial production and merchandise trade, etc. Quarterly data is available for GDP, current account balances, and budget balances. All data sets are updated each weekday to capture the latest available observations. Provided as a free resource by the World Bank's Prospects Group of the Development Economics Vice Presidency.

Pew Research Center - Economy & Work Publications
Research issues, attitudes and trends shaping the world. The Pew Research Center conducts public opinion polling, demographic research, media content analysis and other empirical social science research.

Working papers

The National Bureau of Economic Research
The NBER Working Papers provides access to the results of NBER research in preliminary form to encourage discussion and suggestions for revision before publication.
Organisation for Economic Co-Operation and Development (OECD)
The OECD iLibrary provides a searchable database of books, journals, and freely available working papers, factbook, and data tables.

Why are financial ratios important?

A company's financial ratios can be found on its income statement or balance sheet. Financial ratios quantify a company's operating efficiency and profitability. Aggregated financial ratios show how a company's financials compare to similar companies in an industry classification. Industries are classified by specific numeric codes: SIC and NAICS. The SIC (Standard Industrial Classification Code) codes and NAICS (North American Industry Classification System) codes are used by the government to classify businesses for the purpose of collecting and distributing aggregate economic data.

Mergent Key Business Ratios This link opens in a new window
Provides immediate online access to competitive benchmarking data compiled from D&B's database of public and private companies.

Industry Classification Codes NAICS, SIC
U.S. Census Bureau's website explains and links to the NAICS and SIC industry classification codes used by Federal statistical agencies in classifying business establishments for the purpose of collecting, analyzing, and publishing statistical data related to the U.S. business economy.

Economics

Learn more about...

Finding statistics

U.S. Economy Resources

Global Economies Resources

Working papers

Why are financial ratios important?

Have a question? Ask a librarian! Email libref@stetson.edu. Call or text 386-747-9028.