Guides: Business: Find Business Statistics

Finding company statistics and industry norms

Mergent's Key Business Ratios enables you to find profitability, solvency and efficiency ratios by industry and by company.

A company's financial ratios can be found on its income statement or balance sheet. Financial ratios quantify a company's operating efficiency and profitability. Aggregated financial ratios enable you to find out how a company's financials compare to similar companies in an industry classification. Industries are classified by specific numeric codes, SIC and NAICS. The SIC (Standard Industrial Classification Code) codes and NAICS (North American Industry Classification System) codes are used by the government to classify businesses for the purpose of collecting and distributing aggregate economic data.

Benchmark industry norms are available in the Library's Mergent Key Business Ratios database.

Mergent Key Business Ratios This link opens in a new window
Provides immediate online access to competitive benchmarking data compiled from D&B's database of public and private companies.
Statista This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Statistics and studies gathered by market researchers, trade organizations, scientific publications, and government sources on over 600 industries.
Mergent Intellect This link opens in a new window
Features a deep collection of worldwide business information that enables companies to generate insightful business intelligence. Access private and public U.S and international business data, industry news, facts and figures, executive contact information, industry profiles and much more.

Helpful Websites - U.S. Economy

Economic Census - U.S. Census Bureau
The Economic Census is the U.S. Government's official five-year measure of American business and the economy. It is conducted by the U.S. Census Bureau, and response is required by law.
Bureau of Economic Analysis - National Economic Accounts
Contains Gross Domestic Product (GDP), Personal Income and Outlays, Corporate Profits, Government Current Receipts and Expenditures.
Bureau of Labor Statistics
Contains data on employment and unemployment, inflation and prices, pay and benefits, spending and time use, productivity and workplace injuries.
Federal Reserve Board
Contains information on monetary policy, banking regulations, financial information for consumers, and working papers on a broad range of topics in economics and finance.
Economic Indicators - U.S. Census Bureau
Contains current releases and historic time series for the following indicators: New Residential Construction, Manufacturing and Trade Inventories and Sales, Advance Monthly Sales for Retail and Food Services, Monthly Wholesale Trade, U.S. International Trade in Goods and Services, Manufacturers’ Shipments Inventories and Orders, Construction Spending, Advance U.S. International Trade in Goods, Homeownership Rate, Rental Vacancy Rate, Advance Report on Durable Goods, New Residential Sales, Quarterly Retail Trade Report, Quarterly Manufacturing Report, and Quarterly Services Survey.
StatsAmerica
StatsAmerica is a value-added resource created by the Indiana Business Research Center (IBRC) at Indiana University's Kelley School of Business with funding from the Economic Development Administration. Data sets are provided by federal, state and some private sources. Includes graphs, maps, and time series.
About Economic Indicators
The Economics and Statistics Administration (ESA) releases 12 monthly and quarterly Principal Federal Economic Indicators collected by the U.S. Census Bureau and the Bureau of Economic Analysis (BEA).

Statistical Abstract of the U.S. This link opens in a new window
The Statistical Abstract of the United States is a comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States.

Helpful Websites - Global Economies

The International Monetary Fund
The IMF website is a rich source of economic data, research reports and working papers.
Global Consumption Database
The World Bank launched its Global Consumption Database on May 13, 2014. Information on household and individual spending is provided by surveys conducted in more than 90 countries. Data is provided on 107 products and services and is searchable by country, rural and urban location, and spending level.
Eurostat
Detailed statistics on the European Union (EU) and candidate countries, and various statistical publications for sale.

Information Resources

Borrow, Renew, Request

Collections

Research Help

Teaching and Instruction

Information for...

Technology & Equipment

Library Spaces

General Information

Support & Activities

Business

Finding company statistics and industry norms

Helpful Websites - U.S. Economy

Helpful Websites - Global Economies