| Did you get too many search results? Try this: |
| Add additional keywords- (ex: workplace AND listening AND skills) |
| Choose more specific search terms- (ex: business AND DeLand instead of business AND central Florida) |
| Exclude words from your search results- (ex: Apple NOT fruit) |
| Use search filters- limit by source type, date of publication, language, subject, & more. |
| Choice of database- select a database with a narrower scope of subject matter |
| Search by subject- search for your terms as a subject instead of as a keyword |
| Didn't get enough search results? Try this: |
| Choice of keywords- choosing the right keywords is key. Try experimenting with different terms. (ex: Work OR job OR career OR workplace) |
| Too narrow topic- try looking for sources on a broader, related topic (ex: business AND Florida instead of business AND DeLand) |
| Too many search terms- begin with 1-2 search terms that best represent your topic, then add more as needed. Avoid long phrases. |
| Too many search filters- avoid using any filters that are unnecessary |
| Choice of database- select a database with a broader scope of subject matter |
| Use wildcard & truncation symbols- *, #, ? Allow you to search for multiple spellings of a term |
Databases are different from Google.
Because databases don't like sentences, after identifying a research topic, break it down into 2-4 words or short phrases.
For example, if your research question is, "How does a remote work policy affect individual employee productivity in an organization?", the keywords could be remote work and productivity. From those two terms, there is a better chance the database understands what you are searching for than if you typed in the whole question.
This page is a step-by-step tutorial for using OneSearch. See below for instructions on searching OneSearch, and use the tabs on the left-hand side of the page to see instructions for accessing and saving sources and using your account.
What is OneSearch?
OneSearch is a "discovery tool" which searches multiple databases at the same time to help you find books, articles, music, and more. A default search in OneSearch searches content in Worldcat, Academic Search Complete, and ProQuest Research Library.
