Guides: FSEMs: Fall 2022 &amp; Spring 2023: Library Databases + Search Tips

Where should I start my search?

Before you can find a source for your assignment, you'll need to decide where you are going to look. Everyone knows about Google, but did you know there are many other online search tools? The duPont-Ball Library subscribes to over 250 databases. Each database has a unique collection of information, often with a specific type of content or subject area. Browse our list to select the best one for your needs. If you're not sure, OneSearch is a good starting point.

OneSearch This link opens in a new window
Search for books, ebooks, articles, videos, DVDs, scores, and more in Stetson's library and beyond.
Academic Search Complete (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Find popular magazine articles, newspaper articles, scholarly journals, and more. This database covers a variety of academic subject areas.
ProQuest Complete This link opens in a new window
Search multiple ProQuest databases at one time. Includes historical and current newspapers, popular magazines, scholarly sources, and trade publications.
EBSCO Research Databases This link opens in a new window
A search interface to multiple databases on the EBSCO platform. (Academic Search Premier, MLA, PsycInfo, and more)

Database List
Access 250 databases through the library's website. Sort by Subject or Database Type to find the best database for your needs.

Search Tips

Sometimes we run into trouble when researching online. One search query yields more results than we could ever begin to sift through, while another might return zero. It's all in the way you search. Check out the tips and tricks below to get the best results when researching.

Keyword vs. Subject Searching

Chart taken from Honors College Co-Curricular Workshops LibGuide, Lone Star College Library, Kingwood, TX

Information Resources

Borrow, Renew, Request

Collections

Research Help

Teaching and Instruction

Information for...

Technology & Equipment

Library Spaces

General Information

Support & Activities

FSEMs: Fall 2022 & Spring 2023

Where should I start my search?

Search Tips

Keyword vs. Subject Searching