Guides: FSEMs: Fall 2022 &amp; Spring 2023: Hilton-Macfarlane Inked: Tattoos in Society

Welcome!

This page was created for Colin Hilton-Macfarlane's FSEM students. It features the library databases that may be most useful for the research projects you have in this class. Librarians are here to help with any questions you have about finding sources, using the library, formatting citations, etc. Contact us by calling or texting 386-747-9028 or emailing libref@stetson.edu.

Suggested Databases for Research on Tattoos

OneSearch
Search box on library homepage, that searches many databases at the same time.

Gale In Context: Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
Covers hot-topic social issues, from Offshore Drilling to Climate Change, Health Care to Immigration. Provides informed, differing views on each side of an issue.
Artstor This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A digital image library of collections of art, architecture, humanities, and science images with descriptive information. Artstor migrated to the JSTOR site in 2024.
Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedia entries, biographies, and bibliographies on art topics from Grove Dictionary of Art and Benezit Dictionary of Artists.
Daily Life Through History This link opens in a new window
Explores ordinary life through time and across the globe. A cross-disciplinary resource for researching historical topics such as food and cooking, celebrations, clothes, romance, work, religion, housing, language, and social customs.
Gale OneFile: Pop Culture Studies This link opens in a new window
Access to scholarly journals and magazines that both analyze and contribute to popular culture.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
An archive of scholarly journals. Content spans many disciplines, primarily in the humanities and social sciences. The most recent 3-5 years of journals are generally not available. JSTOR has a number of other collections to which we do not subscribe. Provided through a cooperative agreement with Stetson's College of Law Library.