Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Guide to Writing at Stetson University

This guide is designed for students and faculty to use as a resource for what “good college writing” looks like—and how students can achieve it—and how faculty can encourage it.

A Biology grade rubric





TITLE 

Conveys the main findings of experiment and makes sense 

POINTS RECEIVED

/POINTS POSSIBLE

          /         


ABSTRACT

Single paragraph of no more than 300 words

Includes a concise description of purpose, brief description of methods, major results and overall conclusions based on experiment

Written in past tense


/         

/         

        /         

        /         


INTRODUCTION

Contains appropriate background material from acceptable sources Develops a logical argument that leads to hypothesis

Includes an explicit hypothesis(-es)

Sources are cited correctly and listed in literature cited

 
 /         

        /         

        /         

        /         


METHODS

Contains a written description of how experiment was conducted and how data were analyzed in appropriate detail so that experiment can be repeated by another scientist

Written in paragraph form Written in past tense

 
 /         

         /         

         /         


RESULTS

Includes written, past tense, summary of data without repeating information in tables and figures; summarizes key findings or trends
Tables and figures are explicitly referred to in text

Contains appropriate tables and figures

Figures and tables clearly labeled and properly configured

          /         

        /         

        /         

        /         


DISCUSSION

Explains significance of data, includes clear statement of whether hypothesis was supported

Compares results and conclusions to other relevant research from acceptable sources; includes alternative explanations for results where appropriate; includes ideas for additional studies or experiments that might resolve remaining questions

Contains appropriately cited sources

         
/         

/         

        /         

        /         


REFERENCES

In alphabetical order, in Name-Year Format

Lists only research materials utilized (cited) in finished product


/         

        /         

     /        


OVERALL

Appropriate sections included, all of appropriate length Formatted correctly (margins, spacing, indentation etc.) Free of grammatical and spelling errors

Sophistication (depth of content, clarity of exposition)


/         

         /         

          /        

Have a question? Ask a librarian! Email libref@stetson.edu. Call or text 386-747-9028.