Skip to Main Content

DIGA 101: Digital Arts Fundamentals

This guide will assist students in course assignments for DIGI 101: Digital Arts Fundamental.

Databases for creative arts

You can expand your search for articles by using additional databases, ‚Äča few of which are listed below:

Databases for World Culture

Sources for Biography and Background information

For your assignments, you will need relevant information on your chosen work of art. The library has several options for you to use.

Consider using encyclopedias and other reference sources when you begin researching a topic. Some encyclopedias will provide more in-depth information than others, but any general encyclopedia is a good source to consult for background information of your chosen subject area. Most encyclopedias provide the following:

  • Main concepts, including names, dates, places
  • Keywords and subject terms related to topic
  • Lists of related articles or additional resources

Database Searching

1. Start by identifying the major concepts, themes, works, or authors that you want to research. These are your keywords. Only type your keywords into the search box- don't try to type in an entire thesis statement or research question. 

2. Most of the time, you'll either have too many search results to sort through, or too few to choose from. Use the following tips to expand or limit your search results as needed. These tips should work in most library databases. Some databases have additional or different tips you can try. When you're in a database, look for a link labeled "Help" or "Search Help" for information specific to that database.

searching tips for when you get too many or too few results

When you’ve found one good source, try this:
Subject headings  Does the database list any subject headings to your source? Click on these links to find more.
Reference List Browse your source’s reference list or bibliography to find additional sources on the same topic.
Who’s cited this? Use Go  ogle Scholar or Web of Science to find sources that have cited your source since it was published.
Author Has the same author published additional material on the topic.   

Have a question? Ask a librarian! Email libref@stetson.edu. Call or text 386-747-9028.