Guides: A Virtual Exploration of the Americas (MFA session) : Language Learning Resources

Foreign Language Dictionaries

Spanish

Collins Spanish - English Dictionaries
Unabridged Spanish to English and English to Spanish dictionary. Wide-ranging coverage of contemporary Spanish and English, and a wealth of examples and idioms.
Diccionario de la lengua espanola
From the Real Academia Espanola

Collins Spanish Dictionary
Call Number: ONLINE
Publication Date: 2009
The Oxford Spanish Business Dictionary by Sinda Lopez (Editor); Donald Watt (Editor)
Call Number: ONLINE
Publication Date: 2002

Portuguese

Cambridge Portuguese–English Dictionary
Infopedia - Portuguese dictionary
One of the biggest multimedia repositories of online monolingual and bilingual dictionaries.
Dicio, Dicionário Online de Português
Dictionary developed by a team of Brazilian computer scientists and linguists. Features Portuguese definitions and gives meanings of 400,000 words from A to Z.

Portuguese by Sheila R. Ackerlind; Rebecca Jones-Kellogg
Call Number: ONLINE
Publication Date: 2011
A guide for those interested in learning the Portuguese language and mastering its complexities. It supplements the phonetic and grammatical explanations offered in basic textbooks. Focuses on Brazilian Portuguese, but incorporates European Portuguese variants as well.

Why use reference works?

Consider using encyclopedias and other reference sources when you begin researching a topic. Some encyclopedias will provide more in-depth information than others, but any general encyclopedia is a good source to consult for background information of your chosen subject area. Most encyclopedias provide the following:

Main concepts, including names, dates, places
Keywords and subject terms related to topic
Lists of related articles or additional resources

Britannica Academic This link opens in a new window
Explore tens of thousands of articles, videos, primary sources and journals/periodicals. Browse popular topics, news, biographies, and more! This is a great resource for getting research started or getting more acquainted with a particular topic.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A starting point for research and learning that offers unlimited access to hundreds of full text reference books on every subject. Includes encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri and books of quotations.
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
A searchable, full-text database of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources.
Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new window
Contains over 100 dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works published by Oxford University Press. Also includes the Oxford Companions Series.

Oxford English Dictionary

Oxford English Dictionary This link opens in a new window
Widely regarded as the accepted authority on the English language, this descriptive dictionary traces the historical development of the language.

Information Resources

Borrow, Renew, Request

Collections

Research Help

Teaching and Instruction

Information for...

Technology & Equipment

Library Spaces

General Information

Support & Activities

A Virtual Exploration of the Americas (MFA session)

Foreign Language Dictionaries

Why use reference works?

Oxford English Dictionary