Skip to Main Content

A Virtual Exploration of the Americas (MFA session)

This guide will help us focus on the resources available to MFA Creative Writing candidates. Its purpose is to enrich the MFA experience.

Latin America

Latin America is a complex entity and includes many localities represented in this guide. 

According to the The Columbia Encyclopedia, Latin America is "the Spanish-speaking, Portuguese-speaking, and French-speaking countries (except Canada) of North America, South America, Central America, and the West Indies. The 20 republics are Argentina, Bolivia, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Cuba, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, El Salvador, Guatemala, Haiti, Honduras, Mexico, Nicaragua, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Uruguay, and Venezuela. The term Latin America is also used to include Puerto Rico, the French West Indies, and other islands of the West Indies where a Romance tongue is spoken. Occasionally the term is used to include Belize, Guyana, French Guiana, and Suriname." 


Latin American Literature at the Dawn of the 20th Century

Latin America Poetry, Film, and Theater

"Language Inheritance in Latin America"

Poet Pere Gimfere discusses language in Spain and Latin America, including Italian and Creole language inheritance. The literature that was interrupted by the war in Spain will evolve normally in Latin America.

Have a question? Ask a librarian! Email Call or text 386-747-9028.