Guides: MFA Program Guide : Home

Welcome

This guide describes databases, library services, and other resources for Stetson's Low-residency
MFA in Creative Writing (MFA of the Americas). The library is here to support all your creative endeavors.
Librarians are available every day to answer questions and provide additional help.

The tabs on this page will help you navigate through the various disciplines
and foci within the MFA Program.

Ask a Librarian
Call or text 386-747-9028 or email libref@stetson.edu with any questions.
Request a Research Consultation
Set up a one-on-one appointment with a librarian for personalized research assistance
(which we can conduct via Skype if necessary).

Best Bets (Databases)

Gale Books and Authors This link opens in a new window
Search by genre, title, or author. Includes reading recommendations and award lists.
LitFinder This link opens in a new window
Access to literary works and authors throughout history full-text poems, short stories, speeches, and plays. The database also includes secondary materials like biographies, images, and more.
Gale Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
A literature reference database that includes biographical, bibliographical, and critical content. The LRC is built on the Gale Group three author databases: Contemporary Authors Online, Contemporary Literary Criticism Select and Dictionary of Literary Biography Online.
MLA Bibliography (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
The leading international index of journals, books, dissertations, and more on literature, language and linguistics, folklore, literary theory and criticism, and dramatic arts, as well as the historical aspects of printing and publishing.
Essay & General Literature Index (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Cites essays and articles contained in collections of essays and anthologies published in the United States, Great Britain, and Canada.
Oxford English Dictionary This link opens in a new window
Widely regarded as the accepted authority on the English language, this descriptive dictionary traces the historical development of the language.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
An archive of scholarly journals. Content spans many disciplines, primarily in the humanities and social sciences. The most recent 3-5 years of journals are generally not available. JSTOR has a number of other collections to which we do not subscribe. Provided through a cooperative agreement with Stetson's College of Law Library.

Finding Books

OneSearch is the best place to begin your search for books at the duPont-Ball Library and beyond.

Discovery (How to use OneSearch)
This guide offers further instructions on using OneSearch.

OneSearch This link opens in a new window
Filter to Stetson Library to search the collections of the duPont-Ball Library.

Library of Congress Classification System
Find call numbers that may be useful for your research topic.
Library of Congress Online Catalog- Browse
Find subject heading using the "subjects containing" and "subjects beginning with" filters.
Downloading EBSCOhost eBooks
This library guide provides step-by-step instructions for downloading EBSCOhost ebooks to various mobile devices for offline reading.
Downloading ProQuest Ebook Central eBooks
Instructions on how to download books to your iPhone, iPad, Android device or tablet (including how to save chapters).

MFA Program Guide

Survey

Welcome

Best Bets (Databases)

Finding Books

Have a question? Ask a librarian! Email libref@stetson.edu. Call or text 386-747-9028.