Creative Arts Instruction

You can expand your search for articles by using additional databases, ​a few of which are listed below:

Magazine and journal articles take less time to publish than books, so they typically provide recent information on a topic. Because they are shorter than books, they take less time to read. However, articles often focus on a specific aspect of a topic rather than providing an overview or background information. Here are some things to keep in mind when searching for articles.

• Journal articles often provide the most up-to-date research in a field and present original research findings, a review of research findings on a topic, or take a position on a key question within the field. 
• Newspaper and popular magazine articles are good sources for current events and controversies. 
• Some scholarly journal articles are peer-reviewed, others are not.
• The library's article databases include scholarly articles, peer-reviewed articles, magazine articles, newspaper articles, and book review articles.

In some databases, you can search for the type of article you want -- an empirical research article, a review article, a peer-reviewed article, a book review, etc. 

Review articles. Sometimes categorized as a literature review in a database, a review article is a survey of articles on a topic with findings summarized. This provides the reader with the current state of research in a field or research area.

Meta-analysis. Similar to a review article, but uses a mathematical method to pool and analyze the findings of the articles.

Empirical research articles. Articles that report findings from an experiment or observation.

Book reviews. These articles typically summarize the plot or thesis of a book and compare it to books on the same topic or in the same genre. A book review can help you determine whether you want to find and read that book or move on to something else.

Interlibrary Loan is a service available to Stetson University faculty, students, and staff. To aid in your research, we will borrow from other libraries items not held in the Stetson Library. Please allow one - two weeks for delivery of physical items (books and dissertations) and one week for delivery of electronic items (journal articles).

Make sure to plan ahead and put in requests early for best results! Click on the below link for more information and to order items through ILL.

For your assignments, you will need relevant information on your chosen work of art. The library has several options for you to use.

Consider using encyclopedias and other reference sources when you begin researching a topic. Some encyclopedias will provide more in-depth information than others, but any general encyclopedia is a good source to consult for background information of your chosen subject area. Most encyclopedias provide the following:

• Main concepts, including names, dates, places
• Keywords and subject terms related to topic
• Lists of related articles or additional resources