Guides: Creative Arts Instruction: Beginning Your Research

Welcome, Stetson Artists!

Welcome to the research guide for Creative Arts. This guide describes databases and search tools that you can use to find images and information on subjects such as painting, textiles, and ceramics at the duPont-Ball Library and online. It also offers search tips and information about library services.

Ask a Librarian
- Call or text 386-747-9028 or email libref@Stetson.edu with any questions.
Request a Research Consultation
- Set up a one-on-one appointment with a librarian for personalized research assistance.

Databases for creative arts

You can expand your search for articles by using additional databases, a few of which are listed below:

ARTstor This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A digital image library of collections of art, architecture, humanities, and science images with descriptive information.
Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedia entries, biographies, and bibliographies on art topics from Grove Dictionary of Art and Benezit Dictionary of Artists.
Gale OneFile: Fine Arts This link opens in a new window
Access to scholarly journals and magazines that support research in areas including drama, music, art history, and film making.
Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA) and RILA This link opens in a new window
European and American visual arts material published between 1975 and 2007 covering late antiquity to the present.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
An archive of scholarly journals. Content spans many disciplines, primarily in the humanities and social sciences. The most recent 3-5 years of journals are generally not available. JSTOR has a number of other collections to which we do not subscribe. Provided through a cooperative agreement with Stetson's College of Law Library.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A starting point for research and learning that offers unlimited access to hundreds of full text reference books on every subject. Includes encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri and books of quotations.
ProQuest Complete This link opens in a new window
Searching most of the ProQuest databases at once, including ProQuest Research, ABI/Inform, GenderWatch, Hoovers Company Records, ProQuest Biology, Science, and Social Science Journals, and ProQuest Newspapers.
EBSCO Research Databases This link opens in a new window
A search interface to multiple databases on the EBSCO platform. (Academic Search Premier, MLA, PsycInfo, and more)

OneSearch

OneSearch is a "discovery tool" which searches multiple databases at the same time to help you find books, articles, music, and more. A default search in OneSearch searches content in Worldcat, Academic Search Complete, and ProQuest Research Library.

OneSearch
Filter to Stetson Library to search the collections of the duPont-Ball Library.

How to use OneSearch

Creative Arts Instruction

Learn more about...

Welcome, Stetson Artists!

Databases for creative arts

OneSearch

Have a question? Ask a librarian! Email libref@stetson.edu. Call or text 386-747-9028.