Guides: FSEM 100: Identity Theft: Beginning Your Research

Welcome

Welcome to the research guide for Identity Theft. This guide describes databases and search tools you can use to find information on Identity Theft at the duPont-Ball Library and online, as well as search tips and information about library services.

Ask a Librarian
- Call or text 386-747-9028 or email libref@Stetson.edu with any questions.
Request a Research Consultation
- Set up a one-on-one appointment with a librarian for personalized research assistance.
FSEM subject guide
- Provides guidance on different research topics that will help you succeed in your FSEMs and beyond.

OneSearch

OneSearch is a "discovery tool" which searches multiple databases at the same time to help you find books, articles, music, and more. A default search in OneSearch searches content in Worldcat, Academic Search Complete, and ProQuest Research Library.

OneSearch
Filter to Stetson Library to search the collections of the duPont-Ball Library.

Full guide on OneSearch.

Why use reference works?

Consider using encyclopedias and other reference sources when you begin researching a topic. Some encyclopedias will provide more in-depth information than others, but any general encyclopedia is a good source to consult for background information of your chosen subject area. Most encyclopedias provide the following:

Main concepts, including names, dates, places
Keywords and subject terms related to topic
Lists of related articles or additional resources

Britannica Academic This link opens in a new window
Explore tens of thousands of articles, videos, primary sources and journals/periodicals. Browse popular topics, news, biographies, and more! This is a great resource for getting research started or getting more acquainted with a particular topic.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A starting point for research and learning that offers unlimited access to hundreds of full text reference books on every subject. Includes encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri and books of quotations.
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
A searchable, full-text database of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources.
Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new window
Contains over 100 dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works published by Oxford University Press. Also includes the Oxford Companions Series.

Best Bet Databases for Your Research

ABI Inform Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Academic journals, business magazines, and newspapers, including the Wall Street Journal. Also includes country information and statistics, company profiles, industry reports and market research reports.
Statista This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Statistics and studies gathered by market researchers, trade organizations, scientific publications, and government sources on over 600 industries.
Business Source Premier (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Business Source Premier contains full-text from the world's top management and marketing journals. Includes many leading journals in the areas of economics, finance, and accounting, as well as country economic reports.
Gale Business: Entrepreneurship This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers all major areas of starting and operating a business: financing, management, marketing, human resources, franchising, accounting, taxes and more. Startup and established businesses alike can find answers from an easy-to-use interface that includes a "How To" menu that tackles the most frequently asked new business questions -- including "How to start a small business."
NexisUni This link opens in a new window
News, business and legal sources from LexisNexis. newspapers, magazines, and some journals. Coverage includes general news topics; foreign language news; company, industry, and market news; legal news; general health topics; accounting/tax info; government topics.
HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
Includes full-text Law Journal Library, the Federal Register Library, the Treaties and Agreements Library, and the U.S. Supreme Court Library, court and trial documents, and more. Provided by the Stetson University College of Law.
ProQuest Complete This link opens in a new window
Searching most of the ProQuest databases at once, including ProQuest Research, ABI/Inform, GenderWatch, Hoovers Company Records, ProQuest Biology, Science, and Social Science Journals, and ProQuest Newspapers.
EBSCO Research Databases This link opens in a new window
A search interface to multiple databases on the EBSCO platform. (Academic Search Premier, MLA, PsycInfo, and more)
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
An archive of scholarly journals. Content spans many disciplines, primarily in the humanities and social sciences. The most recent 3-5 years of journals are generally not available. JSTOR has a number of other collections to which we do not subscribe. Provided through a cooperative agreement with Stetson's College of Law Library.

New York Times

Stetson students, faculty, and staff can access The New York Times Digital Edition through an Academic Site License provided by duPont-Ball Library.

New York Times
Follow this link for instructions on how to access the NYT.

Information Resources

Borrow, Renew, Request

Collections

Research Help

Teaching and Instruction

Information for...

Technology & Equipment

Library Spaces

General Information

Support & Activities

FSEM 100: Identity Theft

Welcome

OneSearch

Why use reference works?

Best Bet Databases for Your Research

New York Times