Skip to main content

Archives and Special Collections

This guide provides a brief overview of Stetson's archival resources and special collections.

E. Clay Shaw Collection

The Shaw Collection consists primarily of the official congressional papers of Representative E. Clay Shaw, Stetson alumnus, who represented south Florida in the U.S. Congress for 26 years. The collection includes a large collection of official papers, policy notebooks, videos, DVDs, and many photos. Some items from this collection are available online. Please contact the Archives and Special Collections for access to Rep. Shaw's congressional papers.

Max Cleland Collection

The Max Cleland Collection is a sizable collection of personal, military, and political memorabilia of Joseph Maxwell “Max” Cleland, Stetson alumnus, decorated Vietnam veteran, head of the Veterans Administration under President Jimmy Carter, and former U.S. Senator from Georgia.

Regar Collection

The Regar Collection includes 13 Civil War era letters written by James Frederick Allen before, during, and after he became a prisoner of war at Andersonville Prison, the spoon Allen used at Andersonville, the Bible he had in prison, and a number of other family keepsakes. The collection also includes 200 family photos. The collection was donated by James Frederick Allen’s direct descendants Donald Allen Regar and his four children, Donald Allen Regar, Jr., Alison Regar Betancor, Allen William Regar, and Adam Frederick Regar.

Surratt Collection: James B. Reynolds Papers

The Surratt Collection is comprised of fourteen historical manuscripts: thirteen letters written between 1816 and 1864 to U.S. Rep. James B. Reynolds, a 19th-century congressman from Tennessee; and a handwritten draft of a circular Reynolds wrote to his constituents in 1825. The collection was donated to Stetson by Dr. James Surratt, Volusia school superintendent from 1984 to 1991.

M. Jean Greenlaw Collection

The M. Jean Greenlaw Collection is a large collection of children’s books, many of them first editions and signed by the author and/or illustrator. Donated by Stetson alumna and University of North Texas Professor Emeritus Jean Greenlaw.

Stetson Collection

The Stetson Collection includes books, music CDs, and other items that are about Stetson University and/or have been written by Stetson professors or alumni. Items from the closed Stetson Collection are available to be used by the Stetson community on request, but may not be taken from the building. Items in the Stetson Collection are not available for interlibrary loan; depending on the condition of the material, however, limited photocopies may be made for interlibrary loan requests. The collection is housed in the Johnson Room on the ground floor of the duPont-Ball Library.

Treasure Collection of Rare Books

The Treasure Collection comprises approximately 800 books and other items that have been determined to have significant monetary value and/or have been determined to be rare or not widely held by libraries. Items from the closed Treasure Collection are available to be used by the Stetson community on request, but may not be taken from the building. Items in the Treasure Collection are not available for interlibrary loan; depending on the condition of the material, however, limited photocopies may be made for interlibrary loan requests.

Have a question? Ask a librarian! Call or text 386-747-9028.