Skip to main content

Archives and Special Collections

This guide provides a brief overview of Stetson's archival resources and special collections.

University Archives

The University Archives is a repository for official records of enduring historical value produced by Stetson University. University Archives collections may be subject to access restrictions, and are not available online. Some of these collections are described in archival finding aids, posted below. Please contact the archives for access to the following collections:

University Archives Finding Aids:

General Files

The General Files constitute a large collection of subject files that span the entire course of Stetson's history, as well as hundreds of topics pertinent to Stetson University and the surrounding community. The files are compiled by archives staff, and typically include newspaper clippings, programs, publications, ephemera, and similar documents regarding a given subject. Major subject areas include:

  • Athletics
  • Buildings and Grounds
  • Commencement
  • DeLand, FL
  • Events
  • Student Organizations
  • Campus Departments
  • John B. Stetson and the Stetson Family
  • Stetson Faculty and Administrators
  • Stetson Presidents 
  • Stetson Alumni

The General Files are not available online, but may be accessed by visiting the Archives & Special Collections office.

University Documents

Stetson's collection of University Documents includes official publications, dating from 1884 through the present. All items from this collection are digitized and available on Stetson's Digital Archives. University Documents include:

  • Bulletins and Catalogs
  • Student Handbooks
  • Commencement Programs
  • Promotional Materials

Memorabilia Collection

The Stetson Memorabilia Collection is a large collection of artifacts and ephemera compiled by the Archives. Primarily comprised of Stetson-related content, this collection also includes many items pertinent to John B. Stetson and the Stetson family, the Vietnam War, and Central Florida, among other topics. All items from this collection are digitized and available on Stetson's Digital Archives.

Some of the series in this collection are:

  • Athletics
  • Clothing
  • Postcards
  • Posters
  • Programs
  • Scrapbooks
  • Stetson Family
  • Traditions

Photograph Collection

Stetson's Photograph Collection consists primarily of images related to Stetson University and the surrounding community, including photos of campus grounds, events, individuals, and organizations. The collection also contains prints related to the Stetson family, particularly John B. Stetson, Jr., and his tenure as U.S. Minister to Poland.

Newspaper Collection

Stetson's Newspaper Collection consists of the University's official student newspapers, dating from 1897 through the present. This collection is digitized and fully searchable.

Yearbook Collection

The Yearbook Collection contains the full run of Stetson's yearbooks, from 1908 to 2002. This collection is digitized and fully searchable. 

Stover Theatre Collection

The Stover Theatre Collection documents Stetson University theater productions. Items in this collection are grouped according to production and include:

  • Photos 
  • Playbills
  • Posters

Have a question? Ask a librarian! Call or text 386-747-9028.