Guides: SOCI 307: Race, Ethnicity, and Immigration: Home

Background Information

Consider using encyclopedias and other reference sources when you begin researching a topic. Some encyclopedias will provide more in-depth information than others, but any general encyclopedia is a good source to consult for background information of your chosen subject area. Most encyclopedias provide:

Main concepts, including names, dates, places
Keywords and subject terms related to topic
Lists of related articles or additional resources

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A starting point for research and learning that offers unlimited access to hundreds of full text reference books on every subject. Includes encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri and books of quotations.
CultureGrams This link opens in a new window
Country reports that include local customs, basic economic and social data, politics and history, national flags, national anthems, etc. CultureGrams consists of three editions of country reports updated annually: World Edition, World Kids Edition, and States Edition.

Books and articles

Use the following databases to find books and articles.

OneSearch (advanced search page) This link opens in a new window
Search WorldCat plus Academic Search Complete and Proquest Research Library to find book, eBooks, scholarly articles, news, and more.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
An archive of scholarly journals. Content spans many disciplines, primarily in the humanities and social sciences. The most recent 3-5 years of journals are generally not available. JSTOR has a number of other collections to which we do not subscribe. Provided through a cooperative agreement with Stetson's College of Law Library.
SocINDEX with Full Text (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
A sociology research database with full-text for many journals dating back to 1895.

More Sociology Databases

Data

Use the following databases and websites to find data.

Statista This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Statistics and studies gathered by market researchers, trade organizations, scientific publications, and government sources on over 600 industries.
World Development Indicators This link opens in a new window
World Development Indicators Online is a database of statistics from the World Bank’s Data Group. It provides high quality national and international statistics for users worldwide and lets users assess what governments do by accessing reliable data.
data.census.gov - U.S. Census Data This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Access data and digital content from the U.S. Census Bureau. Starting July 2019, data.census.gov is the primary way to access Census Bureau data, including upcoming releases from the 2018 American Community Survey, 2017 Economic Census, 2020 Census. After July 1, 2019, all new data (previously released on American FactFinder) will be released on this new data platform.
Gale Business: Demographics Now This link opens in a new window
Provides access to demographic reports on any geography – or compare multiple geographies - for information including income, housing, race, age, education, retail spending, consumer expenditures, businesses and more. Includes the 2010 census files and allows the user to view a simple map or use the advanced mapping tools for thematic coloring or additional customization of a map.

Australian Bureau of Statistics
"The ABS is Australia’s national statistical agency, providing trusted official statistics on a wide range of economic, social, population and environmental matters of importance to Australia."
Statistics & Data Research Guide
More databases and web sites with statistics and data.

SOCI 307: Race, Ethnicity, and Immigration

Welcome!

Research Librarian

Background Information

Books and articles

Data

Have a question? Ask a librarian! Email libref@stetson.edu. Call or text 386-747-9028.