Journals and Databases - Finding and Citing Articles - ENGL 342V2-JS: Literature and Medicine

Relevant Journals

A leading journal, published by Johns Hopkins U. (one of America’s first and today premier medical schools), is Literature and Medicine:

Literature and Medicine (JHU Press website)
Literature and Medicine (Project Muse)
Our library has access to Literature and Medicine, from 1982-present, through Project Muse

A leading medical journal, The New England Journal of Medicine, often includes literary reflections on medicine. For years, the immunologist and celebrated writer, Lewis Thomas, contributed a regular essay, under the general heading, “Notes of a Biology Watcher.” Some of these essays were collected in volumes, including one still beloved by doctors, Lives of a Cell.

The New England Journal of Medicine (ProQuest Research Library)
Library has full-text for 1980 to 3 months ago

The Lives of a Cell by Lewis Thomas
Call Number: Main Library Shelves QH 331 .T45

Other medical journals:

JAMA - Journal of the American Medical Association
The Lancet
Full-text access from 1995 to the present
BMJ: British Medical Journal (ProQuest Research Library)
Library has access to full-text from 2008 to 10 weeks ago. Full-text back issues are in JSTOR.

Other sources:

Bellvue Literary Review
The Bellevue Literary Review, founded by Danielle Ofri, is housed at NYU Langone Hospital. It’s a leading literary journal publishing poetry, short fiction, creative non-fiction, and essays.
Ars Medica
A biannual literary journal that explores the interface between the arts and healing, and examines what makes medicine an art.
The Healing Muse
An annual journal of literary and visual art published by SUNY Upstate Medical University's Center for Bioethics & Humanities. Includes fiction, poetry, narratives, essays, memoirs and visual art, particularly but not exclusively focusing on themes of medicine, illness, disability and healing.
New York Times (NexisUni)
The New York Times covers current medical and public health issues.
New York Review of Books
Oliver Sacks, among other doctor-writers, published in The New York Review of Books.

Relevant Databases

Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Interdisciplinary database includes: Arts and Humanities Citation Index, Science Citation Index Expanded, and Social Sciences Citation Index. Includes citation searching (see how many times a paper has been cited). Coverage: 2000 - present.
EBSCO Research Databases This link opens in a new window
A search interface to multiple databases on the EBSCO platform. (Academic Search Premier, MLA, PsycInfo, and more)
Gale Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
A literature reference database that includes biographical, bibliographical, and critical content. The LRC is built on the Gale Group three author databases: Contemporary Authors Online, Contemporary Literary Criticism Select and Dictionary of Literary Biography Online.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
An archive of scholarly journals. Content spans many disciplines, primarily in the humanities and social sciences. The most recent 3-5 years of journals are generally not available. JSTOR has a number of other collections to which we do not subscribe. Provided through a cooperative agreement with Stetson's College of Law Library.

LitMed: The Literature, Arts and Medicine Database
The leading database in literature and medicine, or the medical humanities, from New York University.

Citing

Scholarly Documentation Using MLA Parenthetical Citation Style

MLA Handbook, 8th ed. by The Modern Language Association of America
Call Number: Ready REF LB 2369 .G53 2016 (Ask at Circulation Desk)
ISBN: 9781603292634
Publication Date: 2016
The 8th edition of the MLA Handbook is available in print at the library's front desk.

MLA Formatting and Style Guide (Purdue OWL)

ENGL 342V2-JS: Literature and Medicine

Learn more about...

Relevant Journals

Relevant Databases

Citing

Have a question? Ask a librarian! Email libref@stetson.edu. Call or text 386-747-9028.