Guides: Sustainable Food Systems: Food Economics, Politics, and Policy

Databases

Use the following databases to locate information on food economics, politics, and policy issues.

Environmental Studies and Policy Collection This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journals, magazines, and other reference sources covering environmental issues and policies. Includes perspectives from the scientific community, governmental policymakers, and corporate interests.
Congressional This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive collection of historic and current congressional information, including bills & laws, hearings, CRS reports, committee prints, reports, and the Congressional Record. Congressional Documents (1789-Present), Congressional Hearings (1824-Present), Congressional Record (1873-1997), Congressional Research Reports (1916-2003), Serial Set (1789-Present), Serial Set Maps (1789-1969).
Code of Federal Regulations This link opens in a new window
The codification of the general and permanent rules and regulations (sometimes called administrative law) published in the Federal Register by the executive departments and agencies of the Federal Government of the United States.

These databases have Pro and Con information

Pro & Con This link opens in a new window
Designed to educate professionals and the public by providing an impartial view of controversial issues in Congress.

Databases that have statistics and data

Gale In Context: Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
Covers hot-topic social issues, from Offshore Drilling to Climate Change, Health Care to Immigration. Provides informed, differing views on each side of an issue.
UN Data This link opens in a new window
Search all publicly-available UN databases at a single entry point. Also includes International Financial Statistics, World Development Indicators, OECD data, LABORSTA, & Key Indicators of the Labour Market.
World Development Indicators This link opens in a new window
World Development Indicators Online is a database of statistics from the World Bank’s Data Group. It provides high quality national and international statistics for users worldwide and lets users assess what governments do by accessing reliable data.
Statista This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Statistics and studies gathered by market researchers, trade organizations, scientific publications, and government sources on over 600 industries.

Databases that focus on law

HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
Includes full-text Law Journal Library, the Federal Register Library, the Treaties and Agreements Library, and the U.S. Supreme Court Library, court and trial documents, and more. Provided by the Stetson University College of Law.
WestlawNext This link opens in a new window
Access a collection of news and business information and law-related resources (legal documents, cases, statutes, regulations, and articles).