Welcome to the subject guide for Industry Research. This guide describes databases and search tools you can use to find information on Industry Research topics at the duPont-Ball Library and online, as well as search tips and information regarding library services.
Remember, librarians can help you with your research:
Use these databases to find Industry Research resources:
This link opens in a new window
A full-text database of U.S. and Global industry market research reports.
Business Source Premier contains full-text from the world's top management and marketing journals. Includes many leading journals in the areas of economics, finance, and accounting, as well as country economic reports.
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new windowAcademic journals, business magazines, and newspapers, including the Wall Street Journal. Also includes country information and statistics, company profiles, industry reports and market research reports.
This link opens in a new windowStatistics and studies gathered by market researchers, trade organizations, scientific publications, and government sources on over 600 industries.
Industrial classification codes (SIC and NAICS) are used to organize industry data and documents into broad topical areas. IBISWorld, Mergent Online, Mergent First Research, Mergent Intellect, ABI/INFORM and Business Source Premier databases have industry code look-up functions. The look-up functions allow you to search code descriptions by keyword, then select classifications codes from a list.
Several library databases provide industry code look-up functions which allow you to search the NAICS or SIC code descriptions by keyword and select codes from drop-down lists.
Industry code searches enable you to:
Industry codes also define broad topical areas such as a management function, a market, or an organization type. For example, the NAICS code 1300 covers international trade and foreign investment. Code 1500 covers energy and the environment. In the "advanced search" feature of the ABI/INFORM business database, clicking on “Look up classification codes” will open a list of broad categories and nested sub-categories. Check boxes are provided to limit your search results to specific industries, markets or management functions.