Database with education-related literature. Use the Thesaurus to determine what terms are used for your topic. Use Indexes to browse the descriptors index to find content on your topic. This strategy also works with many disciplinary databases.
List of periodicals that the duPont-Ball library subscribes to. Find out if we have a particular periodical and how you can access it. Or, browse by discipline, then narrow by subject to find periodicals.
Use links below article title in search results to find similar articles or citing articles. From off-campus access through library website, or configure duPont-Ball Library access through your gmail account. Use Google Scholar Metrics to find "top publications" in a discipline.
List of all databases that the duPont-Ball Library subscribes to.
Tips for making the most of your database searches:
To make sure you are getting everything a database has on your topic, try both keyword searching and subject searching in databases that index by subject (not all databases have this).
When keyword searching, use quotation marks to search for a phrase. Use an asterisk to truncate your keywords in order to search for multiple forms of a word (ex. educat* would search for education, educate, educator, etc.)
When you already have an article, what subject terms have they assigned to your article? What other articles are tagged with these subject terms?
Make an account with each database vendor you are using (this is free) for access to additional features such as saving literature to folders, saving your search queries, and setting up email alerts when new content is added to your search query results.
Use citation management software to store everything you find in one place and organize it. (My favorite is Zotero.)