Skip to Main Content

From Idea to Inquiry: Transforming Topics into Research Questions

A step-by-step approach to developing research topics and research questions

Determine the Requirements

Before selecting a topic and formulating a research question, you should first clarify the requirements of your assignment.

Consider the following:

  • What is the goal of this assignment?
  • Is it to test a hypothesis?
  • Is it to analyze a dataset?
  • Is it to present and support an argument?

Review the assignment guidelines and consult with your instructor about the purpose. Understanding the assignment's objective will aid you in selecting the best topic and framing your question effectively.

Brainstorming & Narrowing Down Ideas

Try these techniques to explore your potential topic:

Free Writing: Spend 10-15 minutes writing everything that comes to mind about a broad area of interest.
Discussion: Talk to peers or faculty to gain insights and perspectives.
Mind Mapping: Create a visual representation of your ideas, branching out from a central theme.

 

   

What's next?

Narrow down your broad topic. Think about the following:

Consider Relevance: Think about current events or issues related to your topic.
Assess Scope: Ensure the topic is not too broad or too narrow. Aim for a focused angle.
Interest and Passion: Choose something that excites you to maintain motivation.

Using encyclopedias to choose a topic

Encyclopedia entries can be very handy when you are working on choosing a topic. Use them to:

  • Browse entries to find topic ideas
  • Read an entry that looks interesting to you so that you can:
    • Get an overview of a topic to decide whether or not you want to continue with it
    • Learn about major concepts or issues to decide how to narrow a topic down
    • Determine the appropriate vocabulary to use to search for more detailed information on your topic

Sometimes a general encyclopedia or Wikipedia may be sufficient. At other times, specialized encyclopedias may be more useful. Encyclopedias written on specific subjects will usually have more detailed information and are written for an academic audience. 

Remember that encyclopedias should usually be considered a starting point for research. They won't replace a peer-reviewed, scholarly source.

The duPont-Ball Library subscribes to a few databases that include many specialized encyclopedias, and we also have print and electronic encyclopedias.

Choosing a current event or issue for your topic

If you want to research a contemporary social issue, browse the following databases for background info, news, and other information that can help you learn more about & narrow down your topic.

Of course, when you are researching current events and issues, there's a high risk that you'll find information that is inaccurate or intended to mislead you. Check out the following guides for more help 

Have a question? Ask a librarian! Email libref@stetson.edu. Call or text 386-747-9028.