Guides: English, American, and World Literature: Getting Started

Learn more about...

Accessing Material

Interlibrary Loan
Request a book or article that we don't have (free).
Off-Campus Access
Students can log in to access library resources from off-campus.
Borrowing Materials
Info about checking out library materials.

MLA Citation Style

MLA Handbook Plus This link opens in a new window
Online access to the ninth edition of the MLA Handbook.

Purdue OWL MLA Formatting
Overview of MLA 9th edition, including works cited and in-text citations.

Welcome!

Welcome to the research guide for English, American, and World Literature!

This guide describes databases and search tools that you can use to find primary and secondary sources on literature topics at the duPont-Ball Library and on the web, as well as search tips and information about library services.

The library is here to support you in all your research endeavors. As always, get in touch with a librarian and we'll be happy to answer any questions or provide additional help.

Ask a Librarian
- Call or text 386-747-9028 or email libref@Stetson.edu with any questions.
Request a Research Consultation
- Set up a one-on-one appointment with a librarian for personalized research assistance.

Key Resources for Literature Research

Here are some key databases for researching literature topics. Additional information about these tools as well as tips for searching them efficiently can be found in the tabs in the upper left-hand corner of this page.

MLA Bibliography (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
The leading international index of journals, books, dissertations, and more on literature, language and linguistics, folklore, literary theory and criticism, and dramatic arts, as well as the historical aspects of printing and publishing.
Gale Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
A literature reference database that includes biographical, bibliographical, and critical content. The LRC is built on the Gale Group three author databases: Contemporary Authors Online, Contemporary Literary Criticism Select and Dictionary of Literary Biography Online.
OneSearch (advanced search page) This link opens in a new window
Search WorldCat plus Academic Search Complete and Proquest Research Library to find book, ebooks, scholarly articles, news, and more.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
An archive of scholarly journals. Content spans many disciplines, primarily in the humanities and social sciences. The most recent 3-5 years of journals are generally not available. JSTOR has a number of other collections to which we do not subscribe. Provided through a cooperative agreement with Stetson's College of Law Library.

All Literature Databases
View the full list of 19 databases at Stetson that may be useful for literature research.
Literary Research Guide
The Literary Research Guide was an annotated guide to selected reference sources essential to the study of British literature, literatures of the United States, other literatures in English, and related topics.

English, American, and World Literature

Learn more about...

Welcome!

Key Resources for Literature Research

Have a question? Ask a librarian! Email libref@stetson.edu. Call or text 386-747-9028.