Guides: Physics: Find Background information

Why use reference works?

Consider using encyclopedias and other reference sources when you begin researching a topic. Some encyclopedias will provide more in-depth information than others, but any general encyclopedia is a good source to consult for background information of your chosen subject area. Most encyclopedias provide the following:

Main concepts, including names, dates, places
Keywords and subject terms related to topic
Lists of related articles or additional resources

Britannica Academic This link opens in a new window
Explore tens of thousands of articles, videos, primary sources and journals/periodicals. Browse popular topics, news, biographies, and more! This is a great resource for getting research started or getting more acquainted with a particular topic.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A starting point for research and learning that offers unlimited access to hundreds of full text reference books on every subject. Includes encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri and books of quotations.
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
A searchable, full-text database of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources.
Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new window
Contains over 100 dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works published by Oxford University Press. Also includes the Oxford Companions Series.

Reference Books

Handbook of Chemistry and Physics by David R. Lide (Editor)
Call Number: QD65 .H3 2002-2003
Publication Date: 2003
AIP Physics Desk Reference by E. Richard Cohen (Editor); David R. Lide (Editor); George L. Trigg (Editor)
Call Number: QC61 .P49 2003
Publication Date: 2003

All of the reference books listed below are located on the main floor of the duPont-Ball library. If you need assistance locating these titles, please ask for help at the information desk.

Encyclopedia of Physics by Joe Rosen
Call Number: QC5 .R596 2004
Publication Date: 2004

Information Resources

Borrow, Renew, Request

Collections

Research Help

Teaching and Instruction

Information for...

Technology & Equipment

Library Spaces

General Information

Support & Activities

Physics

Why use reference works?

Reference Books