Guides: Biology: Finding articles

Resources for Articles

Stetson subscribes to several databases that will assist you with locating articles on topics related to the biological and environmental sciences. Searching any of the science databases will enable you to find a variety of resources (articles published in journals, government titles, books, and reference works) related to life sciences topics (biology, botany, microbiology, pharmacology, biochemistry, evolutionary ecology, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, environmental science, climate change, and more).

Biological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Life science and biomedical research literature with international coverage from more than 4,000 journals as far back as 1926. Concurrently searches the Biological Abstracts back files (1926-1968) and the current files (1969-present).
BioMed Central This link opens in a new window
BioMed Central is an STM (Science, Technology and Medicine) publisher of 265 peer-reviewed open access journals. Journals span all areas of biology, biomedicine and medicine and includes broad interest titles, such as BMC Biology and BMC Medicine alongside specialist journals, such as Retrovirology and BMC Genomics.
Biological Science Collection This link opens in a new window
Provides access to a wide range of biology topics.
Science Direct This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This database includes the health and life sciences portion of the Science Direct College Edition. About 1,000 peer-reviewed journals; hundreds of book series, handbooks and reference works; back to volume one, issue one.
PubMed Central This link opens in a new window
PMC is a free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM).
Medline (Medical Index) This link opens in a new window
Biomedical journal article citations on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. The MEDLINE database is widely recognized as the premier source for bibliographic and abstract coverage of biomedical literature. 1946-present.
PLOS Collections This link opens in a new window
PLOS Collections aggregate and curate related content from PLOS journals and the PLOS Blogs Network.
Annual Reviews This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive, timely collections of critical reviews written by leading scientists. Annual Reviews volumes are published each year for 46 focused disciplines within the Biomedical, Life, Physical, and Social Sciences including Economics.

Journals List

Library website
At the library homepage, select the link to the Journals List to search for a specific journal or newspaper.

To search a specific journal, enter the journal title, then click search. The Journals List provides the library's holdings for the journal title entered. Some titles will be available in various formats (print, microform, and/or electronically in one or more of the library's databases). Current journals (2011-present) are located on the main floor; earlier journals are located in the basement arranged alphabetically by title.

Click on the journal title link to the database that corresponds to the dates of coverage needed. In cases where a journal is only available in microform, ask at the Circulation Desk for assistance.

Journals List This link opens in a new window
List of journals to which the library subscribes. Provides links to databases and the years covered in each database. Gives information about print and microfilm access in Stetson's duPont-Ball Library.

Biology

Learn more about...

Resources for Articles

Journals List

Have a question? Ask a librarian! Email libref@stetson.edu. Call or text 386-747-9028.