Guides: Sport Business: Researching industries

Industry codes

Industrial classification codes (SIC and NAICS) are used to organize industry data and documents into broad topical areas. Mergent Online, Mergent First Research, Mergent Intellect, NexisUni, ABI/INFORM and Business Source Premier databases have industry code look-up functions. The look-up functions allow you to search code descriptions by keyword, then select classifications codes from a list. Industry classification codes are useful to limit search results to a specific industry, to locate companies within an industry, to find industry analysis reports and industry statistics.
Industry codes serve to define broad topical areas such as a management function, an industry, a market, or an organization type. For example, the NAICS code 71 and SIC codes 79, 84 cover the Arts, Entertainment & Leisure sectors which includes professional sports, health and fitness centers, recreational facilities, and recreational and leisure activites. In the ABI/INFORM business database, clicking on “Look up classification codes” will open a list of broad categories and nested sub-categories. Check boxes are provided to limit your search results to specific industries, markets or management functions.
Detailed descriptions and historical information about the SIC and NAICS industrial classification systems can be found on the Census.gov website.

Mergent This link opens in a new window
Mergent Market Atlas, formerly Mergent Online, is an Internet-based suite of information resources that enables in-depth business and financial research. This state-of-the-art product provides Internet-based access to the most detailed, accurate and comprehensive global company database available, with the latest in features and functions.
Mergent First Research This link opens in a new window
First Research is the leading provider of industry intelligence. First Research's knowledge tools (Industry Profiles, Call Prep Sheets, State & Province Profiles) are essential for call preparation, enhancing presentations, underwriting credit, and for quickly learning a company's key business issues.
Mergent Intellect This link opens in a new window
Features a deep collection of worldwide business information that enables companies to generate insightful business intelligence. Access private and public U.S and international business data, industry news, facts and figures, executive contact information, industry profiles and much more.
ABI Inform Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Academic journals, business magazines, and newspapers, including the Wall Street Journal. Also includes country information and statistics, company profiles, industry reports and market research reports.
NexisUni This link opens in a new window
News, business and legal sources from LexisNexis. newspapers, magazines, and some journals. Coverage includes general news topics; foreign language news; company, industry, and market news; legal news; general health topics; accounting/tax info; government topics.
IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A full-text database of U.S. and Global industry market research reports.
Business Source Premier (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Business Source Premier contains full-text from the world's top management and marketing journals. Includes many leading journals in the areas of economics, finance, and accounting, as well as country economic reports.

Websites

U.S. Dept. of Labor SIC Search
This Website provides descriptions of the SIC division and group structure. Descriptions can be searched by keyword.
U.S. Dept. of Commerce NAICS Look-ups
This official U.S. Government Website provides the latest information on plans for NAICS revisions, as well as access to various NAICS reference files and tools.
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Industries at a Glance
Snapshot overviews of U.S. data on 100 NAICS classified industries.

Sport Business

Ask A Librarian

Industry codes

Websites

Have a question? Ask a librarian! Email libref@stetson.edu. Call or text 386-747-9028.