Guides: POLI 497 &amp; 498: Senior Research I &amp; II: Find Data, News, & Government Info

Data

International Data

UN Data This link opens in a new window
Search all publicly-available UN databases at a single entry point. Also includes International Financial Statistics, World Development Indicators, OECD data, LABORSTA, & Key Indicators of the Labour Market.
World Bank Data This link opens in a new window
Provided as a free resource by the World Bank, the data portal provides access to current and archived data on international development.
World Development Indicators This link opens in a new window
World Development Indicators Online is a database of statistics from the World Bank’s Data Group. It provides high quality national and international statistics for users worldwide and lets users assess what governments do by accessing reliable data.

U.S. Data

Statistical Abstract of the U.S. This link opens in a new window
The Statistical Abstract of the United States is a comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States.
data.census.gov - U.S. Census Data This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Access data and digital content from the U.S. Census Bureau. Starting July 2019, data.census.gov is the primary way to access Census Bureau data, including upcoming releases from the 2018 American Community Survey, 2017 Economic Census, 2020 Census. After July 1, 2019, all new data (previously released on American FactFinder) will be released on this new data platform.

American Community Survey
Ongoing survey that provides vital information on a yearly basis about our nation and its people

Variety

Pew Research Center
Public opinion polling, demographic research, media content analysis and more.

Statista This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Statistics and studies gathered by market researchers, trade organizations, scientific publications, and government sources on over 600 industries.

New York Times Digital Edition (1980 to present) This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to New York Times. Requires account registration (see instructions).
1.Click the link above
2. Click "Create Account” and complete registration fields - be sure to use your Stetson email address
NexisUni This link opens in a new window
News, business and legal sources from LexisNexis. newspapers, magazines, and some journals. Coverage includes general news topics; foreign language news; company, industry, and market news; legal news; general health topics; accounting/tax info; government topics.
HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
Includes full-text Law Journal Library, the Federal Register Library, the Treaties and Agreements Library, and the U.S. Supreme Court Library, court and trial documents, and more. Provided by the Stetson University College of Law.
Access World News This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A collection of thousands of U.S. and global news sources.
ProQuest U.S. Newsstream This link opens in a new window
More than 350 newspapers, many with full-text. Coverage 1995 to present. The Major Newspapers collection includes The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, The Washington Post, and more.
Congressional Quarterly (CQ) Magazine This link opens in a new window