Guides: Anthropology: Finding Articles

Article Databases

Databases with journal and magazine articles.

Academic Search Complete (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
A broad, general full-text database that includes both popular and scholarly periodicals. It covers virtually all academic areas of study, including social sciences, sciences, and humanities.
GenderWatch This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scholarly articles and other materials on topics related to gender.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Research Library This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary database with full-text articles in the arts, business, health, medicine, history, science, technology, social sciences. Includes scholarly articles, professional publication, and magazines.
Science Direct This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This database includes the health and life sciences portion of the Science Direct College Edition. About 1,000 peer-reviewed journals; hundreds of book series, handbooks and reference works; back to volume one, issue one.
SocINDEX with Full Text (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
A sociology research database with full-text for many journals dating back to 1895.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Interdisciplinary database includes: Arts and Humanities Citation Index, Science Citation Index Expanded, and Social Sciences Citation Index. Includes citation searching (see how many times a paper has been cited). Coverage: 2000 - present.

Databases with articles and information about specialized topics.

American Indian Experience This link opens in a new window
Full-text digital resource exploring the histories and contemporary cultures of the indigenous peoples of the United States. Offers access to more than 150 volumes of scholarship and reference content, hundreds of primary documents, and thousands of images.
African American Experience This link opens in a new window
Covers the black experience from its African origins to the present day. Topics include history, biography, literature, arts, music, pop culture, folklore, business, slavery, civil rights, politics, sports, education, and science & technology.
Includes hundreds of primary documents: manuscripts, speeches, court cases, quotations, advertisements, statistics, and other papers; More than 4,000 interviews with former slaves, including the WPA slave narratives from the acclaimed The American Slave: A Composite Autobiography; Sixty-seven Negro University Press texts from the late 1700s to the early 1970s classics in black scholarship. Other Features: In their Own Voices (audio clips, such as interviews with former slaves and music files). Links to vetted Web sites. Lesson plans, directly tied to associated primary source documents and images, and other classroom resources. Hundreds and hundreds of photographs, maps, and other images.
Daily Life Through History This link opens in a new window
Explores ordinary life through time and across the globe. A cross-disciplinary resource for researching historical topics such as food and cooking, celebrations, clothes, romance, work, religion, housing, language, and social customs.
CultureGrams This link opens in a new window
Country reports that include local customs, basic economic and social data, politics and history, national flags, national anthems, etc. CultureGrams consists of three editions of country reports updated annually: World Edition, World Kids Edition, and States Edition.

Off-Campus and Celebration Campus Access to Library Resources and Services

Accessing Online Resources
You must be connected to Stetson's Network in order to access any of the electronic materials referenced in this guide. If you are not working from a campus-connected computer, you will have to enter the network through a proxy server. Click on the link for more information on accessing library sources from Off Campus.

Anthropology

Learn more about...

Article Databases

Off-Campus and Celebration Campus Access to Library Resources and Services

Have a question? Ask a librarian! Email libref@stetson.edu. Call or text 386-747-9028.