Guides: FSEM 100: The First Americans: Home

Welcome!

This guide was updated in October 2017 for Dr. Ballenger's FSEM students. It features library & web resources that may be useful for research related to Native American history, culture, and contemporary experience.

Resources for Native American Topics

Find Primary Sources & Reference Content

American Indian Experience This link opens in a new window
Full-text digital resource exploring the histories and contemporary cultures of the indigenous peoples of the United States. Offers access to more than 150 volumes of scholarship and reference content, hundreds of primary documents, and thousands of images.

Find Scholarly Books & Peer-Reviewed Journal Articles

OneSearch (advanced search page) This link opens in a new window
Use OneSearch to search many library databases simultaneously. OneSearch contains scholarly books and peer-reviewed articles, along with non-scholarly content like news,magazines, and videos.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Use JSTOR to find scholarly, peer-reviewed journal articles.
Gale Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
A literature reference database that includes biographical, bibliographical, and critical content. The LRC is built on the Gale Group three author databases: Contemporary Authors Online, Contemporary Literary Criticism Select and Dictionary of Literary Biography Online.

Find Streaming Videos

Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
A streaming video platform with thousands of documentaries, educational films and news reels. Content from Films on Demand can be shown in the classroom setting and linked in your Canvas course.

Find Local Information

Daytona Beach News-Journal This link opens in a new window
Full-text of the Daytona Beach New-Journal from 1996 to the present. Part of the Access World News database.

History of Volusia County
Use this resource to locate information about Volusia County history including historic Native American sites.
Florida Memory Project
Florida Memory is funded under the provisions of the Library Services and Technology Act, from the Institute of Museum and Library Services, administered by the Florida Department of State, Division of Library and Information Services
duPont-Ball Library Archives
Access to the digital archives including Stetson memorabilia.

Find Web Sites

Google Advanced Search
Google Advanced gives you more control over the content you get from Google search results. Note the option to search for content on a specific site or with a specific domain (such as .gov or .edu).
DuckDuckGo
DuckDuckGo is the internet search engine that doesn't track you. Great for avoiding bias based on your own previous searches.

FSEM 100: The First Americans

Need Help?

Survey

Welcome!

Resources for Native American Topics

Have a question? Ask a librarian! Email libref@stetson.edu. Call or text 386-747-9028.