Guides: FSEM 100: Chemistry and Society: Research Resources

Find big picture, overview information

If you picked a topic but didn't do any reading about it, these databases are a good place to start. They provide big picture, overview information similar to what you find in Wikipedia, but are written by experts rather than the general public who write and edit Wikipedia entries.

Britannica Academic This link opens in a new window
Explore tens of thousands of articles, videos, primary sources and journals/periodicals. Browse popular topics, news, biographies, and more! This is a great resource for getting research started or getting more acquainted with a particular topic.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A starting point for research and learning that offers unlimited access to hundreds of full text reference books on every subject. Includes encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri and books of quotations.

Search for books and book chapters

Use OneSearch to find books, eBooks, articles, videos, scores and more available in the duPont-Ball Library.

OneSearch This link opens in a new window
Limit to books and to Stetson to find books and ebooks that we have access to through our library.

Guide about using OneSearch

Find articles in library databases

These library databases include magazine articles, newspaper articles, scholarly articles, and other published sources on various topics. Look for an option to generate a citation, and to send yourself a link.

Academic Search Complete (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
A broad, general full-text database that includes both popular and scholarly periodicals. It covers virtually all academic areas of study, including social sciences, sciences, and humanities.
ProQuest Research Library This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary database with full-text articles in the arts, business, health, medicine, history, science, technology, social sciences. Includes scholarly articles, professional publication, and magazines.

ACS Citation Style

ACS Guide to Scholarly Communication, Section 4.3.2 Creating References
Links to a section of the ACS Guide to Scholarly Communication.

ACS Guide to Scholarly Communication This link opens in a new window
This style guide provides insight on ethics in scientific communication, the editorial process, chemical nomenclature, grammar, punctuation, spelling, and reference formatting.

Free ACS Citation Generator (MyBib)
It's a citation generator. You know what to do.
ACS Citation Generator (EduBirdie™)
Another citation generator.

Information Resources

Borrow, Renew, Request

Collections

Research Help

Teaching and Instruction

Information for...

Technology & Equipment

Library Spaces

General Information

Support & Activities

FSEM 100: Chemistry and Society

Find big picture, overview information

Search for books and book chapters

Find articles in library databases

ACS Citation Style