How did the library session go? Let us know! This survey is intended for you to fill out after a librarian visits your class. Click the link below to begin:
This guide describes databases, search tools, and library services to support your research in Honors 201.
The library is here to support you in all your research endeavors. Librarians are happy to answer any questions or provide additional help.
Students in HONR 201 will develop an HONR 202 tutorial course that will be led by 5 – 7 students, with the support of a faculty member, in Spring 2024. With this goal in mind, students will develop a research question (on which the tutorial course can be based) from one of the following prompts:
Consult Reference Works:
Consider using encyclopedias and other reference sources when you begin researching a topic. Some encyclopedias will provide more in-depth information than others, but any general encyclopedia is a good source to consult for background information of your chosen subject area. Most encyclopedias provide:
This link opens in a new window
A starting point for research and learning that offers unlimited access to hundreds of full text reference books on every subject. Includes encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri and books of quotations.
Contains over 100 dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works published by Oxford University Press. Also includes the Oxford Companions Series.
Explore tens of thousands of articles, videos, primary sources and journals/periodicals. Browse popular topics, news, biographies, and more! This is a great resource for getting research started or getting more acquainted with a particular topic.
General/Multidisciplinary Databases:
A broad, general full-text database that includes both popular and scholarly periodicals. It covers virtually all academic areas of study, including social sciences, sciences, and humanities.
A multidisciplinary database with full-text articles in the arts, business, health, medicine, history, science, technology, social sciences. Includes scholarly articles, professional publication, and magazines.
A collection of news, magazine articles, and academic journal articles on a variety of topics.
Generative AI:
Note: Although generative AI can be very useful, it has its limitations. Please engage with generative AI platforms responsibly and ethically. Always refer to your professor's syllabus for guidelines on using AI.
Business focused databases:
Business Source Premier contains full-text from the world's top management and marketing journals. Includes many leading journals in the areas of economics, finance, and accounting, as well as country economic reports.
This link opens in a new windowAcademic journals, business magazines, and newspapers, including the Wall Street Journal. Also includes country information and statistics, company profiles, industry reports and market research reports.
This link opens in a new windowA full-text database of U.S. and Global industry market research reports.
Philosophy/Ethics focused databases:
The Philosopher's Index provides indexing and abstracts from books and journals of philosophy and related fields. It covers the areas of ethics, aesthetics, social philosophy, political philosophy, epistemology, logic, and metaphysics, as well as material on the philosophy of law, religion, science, history, education, and language.
News Databases:
Law & Legal Databases:
Includes full-text Law Journal Library, the Federal Register Library, the Treaties and Agreements Library, and the U.S. Supreme Court Library, court and trial documents, and more. Provided by the Stetson University College of Law.
Access a collection of news and business information and law-related resources (legal documents, cases, statutes, regulations, and articles).
Journals:
Statistics Resources:
Websites of interest:
The Writers Guild of America (WGA) is the joint efforts of two different American labor unions representing writers in film, television, radio, and online media:
Although each organization operates independently, they perform some common activities, including negotiating contracts and launching strike actions in unison.
MLA Bibliography (EBSCOhost) Database:
The leading international index of journals, books, dissertations, and more on literature, language and linguistics, folklore, literary theory and criticism, and dramatic arts, as well as the historical aspects of printing and publishing.
Literature focused databases:
Recommended Research Guides with a Literary Focus:
Journals:
And more:
Education Resources:
This link opens in a new windowThe Educational Resource Information Center (ERIC) is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education to provide access to education-related literature including education-related journals, books, theses, curricula, conference papers, and standards and guidelines. Coverage from 1961-present.
The Educational Resource Information Center (ERIC) is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education to provide extensive access to educational-related literature. Access 14,000+ documents and over 20,000+ journal articles per year. Coverage from 1966-present.
A top source for news, advice, and jobs for people in academe. Features complete contents of the latest issue, daily news and advice columns, current job listings, archive, discussion forums, and career-building tools. Create an account on campus for full access on or off campus.
Prepping for Grad School/Career:
This link opens in a new windowRepository for the full text of psychological tests and measures as well as a rich source of structured information about the tests. A wide variety of test types are included in PsycTESTS, including achievement and aptitude tests, intelligence tests, tests of cognitive functioning, occupational tests, personality tests, and so on.
And more:
Food, Culinary Arts, & Nutrition:
Science Focused Databases:
This link opens in a new windowThis database includes the health and life sciences portion of the Science Direct College Edition. About 1,000 peer-reviewed journals; hundreds of book series, handbooks and reference works; back to volume one, issue one.
Interdisciplinary database includes: Arts and Humanities Citation Index, Science Citation Index Expanded, and Social Sciences Citation Index. Includes citation searching (see how many times a paper has been cited). Coverage: 2000 - present.
Journals:
Food-focused Encyclopedias:
The Cambridge World History of FoodFood, Culinary Arts, & Nutrition:
Health & Wellness Focused Databases:
Find medical, statistical, health, and related information. Includes up-to-date reference material as well as full-text magazines, journals, and pamphlets from a wide variety of authoritative medical sources.
Environmental Studies and Agriculture:
Covers all aspects of human impact to the environment.
This link opens in a new windowCulture:
Country reports that include local customs, basic economic and social data, politics and history, national flags, national anthems, etc. CultureGrams consists of three editions of country reports updated annually: World Edition, World Kids Edition, and States Edition.
Journals:
Food-focused Encyclopedias:
The Cambridge World History of Food
Food Cultures of the World Encyclopedia. v. 3 Asia and Oceania by Philosophy/Ethics focused databases:
The Philosopher's Index provides indexing and abstracts from books and journals of philosophy and related fields. It covers the areas of ethics, aesthetics, social philosophy, political philosophy, epistemology, logic, and metaphysics, as well as material on the philosophy of law, religion, science, history, education, and language.
Medicine:
Technology:
Journals:
Let's explore the recommended resources and share what we find! Click the link below:
