Skip to Main ContentduPont-Ball Library - Stetson UniversityLibrary Home - duPont-Ball Library - Stetson University - Library Guides at Stetson UniversityduPont-Ball Library - Stetson University
Welcome to the guide for HIST 363: Political Campaigns and Cultural Ideologies in Recent US History!
This page features tools that will help you gather sources for your research projects.
The Home page features databases that are useful for locating secondary sources, and links to library services that may help you throughout the research process. Click on the Finding Primary Sources tab for info on how and where to find primary sources.
From Dr. Croce's syllabus:
"This course will explore the issues, ideologies, and history surrounding the 2020 elections, especially on the national scene. As a course in recent and even current history, it is cross-listed with Journalism."
A starting point for research and learning that offers unlimited access to hundreds of full text reference books on every subject. Includes encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri and books of quotations.
An archive of scholarly journals. Content spans many disciplines, primarily in the humanities and social sciences. The most recent 3-5 years of journals are generally not available. JSTOR has a number of other collections to which we do not subscribe. Provided through a cooperative agreement with Stetson's College of Law Library.
Covers the black experience from its African origins to the present day. Topics include history, biography, literature, arts, music, pop culture, folklore, business, slavery, civil rights, politics, sports, education, and science & technology.
Includes hundreds of primary documents: manuscripts, speeches, court cases, quotations, advertisements, statistics, and other papers; More than 4,000 interviews with former slaves, including the WPA slave narratives from the acclaimed The American Slave: A Composite Autobiography; Sixty-seven Negro University Press texts from the late 1700s to the early 1970s classics in black scholarship. Other Features: In their Own Voices (audio clips, such as interviews with former slaves and music files). Links to vetted Web sites. Lesson plans, directly tied to associated primary source documents and images, and other classroom resources. Hundreds and hundreds of photographs, maps, and other images.
A full-text collection of major religion and theology journals selected by some of the major religion scholars in the United States. Coverage begins in 1949.
Covers hot-topic social issues, from Offshore Drilling to Climate Change, Health Care to Immigration. Provides informed, differing views on each side of an issue.
Comprehensive collection of historic and current congressional information, including bills & laws, hearings, CRS reports, committee prints, reports, and the Congressional Record. Congressional Documents (1789-Present), Congressional Hearings (1824-Present), Congressional Record (1873-1997), Congressional Research Reports (1916-2003), Serial Set (1789-Present), Serial Set Maps (1789-1969).
Includes full-text Law Journal Library, the Federal Register Library, the Treaties and Agreements Library, and the U.S. Supreme Court Library, court and trial documents, and more. Provided by the Stetson University College of Law.
News, business and legal sources from LexisNexis. newspapers, magazines, and some journals. Coverage includes general news topics; foreign language news; company, industry, and market news; legal news; general health topics; accounting/tax info; government topics.
Public opinion polling information from U.S. and international surveys. Includes the full text of the questions and responses covering a broad range of issues since 1986.
Searching most of the ProQuest databases at once, including ProQuest Research, ABI/Inform, GenderWatch, Hoovers Company Records, ProQuest Biology, Science, and Social Science Journals, and ProQuest Newspapers.
