Guides: POLI 390: Politics of Authoritarianism: Find reports, news, and data

Find reports, news, and data

Election Reports

OSCE Elections
"Recognizing that democratic elections form the basis for legitimate government, the OSCE observes elections throughout its 57 participating States. It also provides technical assistance to improve the legislative and administrative framework for elections in specific countries."
The Carter Center Election Reports
"A nongovernmental organization, The Carter Center has helped to improve life for people in more than 80 countries by resolving conflicts; advancing democracy and human rights; preventing disease; and improving mental health care."
ElectionGuide
"ElectionGuide is provided by the International Foundation for Electoral Systems (IFES), an international nonprofit dedicated to strengthening electoral democracy. Launched in 1998 through a grant from USAID, ElectionGuide is the most comprehensive and timely source of verified election information available online".

Human Rights Reports

US Department of State 2018 Country Reports on Human Rights Practices
"The annual Country Reports on Human Rights Practices – the Human Rights Reports – cover internationally recognized individual, civil, political, and worker rights, as set forth in the Universal Declaration of Human Rights and other international agreements. The U.S. Department of State submits reports on all countries receiving assistance and all United Nations member states to the U.S. Congress in accordance with the Foreign Assistance Act of 1961 and the Trade Act of 1974."
United Nations Publications
Find UN documents related to human rights in the DAG Discovery online database. The website contains several finding guides to official UN documents, voting data, speeches, maps, and open access publications. The platform provides access to UN-produced materials in digital format and bibliographic records for print UN documents starting in 1979.
Human Rights Watch
Human Rights Watch conducts investigations of human rights abuses around the world. The staff of 80 investigators actively research and report on more than 90 countries.The Human Rights Watch reports are searchable by country, topic, and date.
Amnesty International Reports
Amnesty international "produces reports based on rigorous and independent research. These reports document patterns of human rights abuses and provide a blueprint for change."

News

NexisUni This link opens in a new window
News, business and legal sources from LexisNexis. newspapers, magazines, and some journals. Coverage includes general news topics; foreign language news; company, industry, and market news; legal news; general health topics; accounting/tax info; government topics.
ProQuest U.S. Newsstream This link opens in a new window
More than 350 newspapers, many with full-text. Coverage 1995 to present. The Major Newspapers collection includes The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, The Washington Post, and more.
Access World News This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A collection of thousands of U.S. and global news sources.
New York Times Digital Edition (1980 to present) This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to New York Times. Requires account registration (see instructions).
1.Click the link above
2. Click "Create Account” and complete registration fields - be sure to use your Stetson email address

Data

Statista This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Statistics and studies gathered by market researchers, trade organizations, scientific publications, and government sources on over 600 industries.

Statistics and Data Research Guide
Guide with links to sources with statistics and datasets