Guides: Course Guide Example: Home

This is an example of a course guide.

The guide, https://guides.stetson.edu/enss317, was created in January 2019 to support students in Dr. Day's ENSS 317: Global Perspectives on Food Production class. Course guides can be used in class, linked to a Blackboard page, or added to a syllabus. They are also available through the duPont-Ball Library website and searchable on Google and other web search sites.

Course guides typically include library contact information, links to licensed databases and information sources selected for the discipline and course, and other information that will support students who are searching for credible information to incorporate into a research assignment.

Welcome

This guide describes databases, search tools, and library services that support your research for assignments in ENSS 317.

The library is here to support you in all your research endeavors. Librarians are happy to answer any questions or provide additional help.

Ask a Librarian
Call or text 386-747-9028 or email libref@stetson.edu with any questions.
Request a Research Consultation
Set up a one-on-one appointment with a librarian for personalized research assistance.

Find Background Information

Consider using encyclopedias and other reference sources when you begin researching a topic. Some encyclopedias will provide more in-depth information than others, but any general encyclopedia is a good source to consult for background information of your chosen subject area. Most encyclopedias provide:

Main concepts, including names, dates, places
Keywords and subject terms related to topic
Lists of related articles or additional resources

Encyclopedia of Agriculture and Food Systems
This 3-volume reference work comprehensively covers the important areas of agriculture and food science, covering important methods, practices and ideas in this growing discipline
The Atlas of Food
By providing an up-to-date and visually appealing understanding of important issues around global food and agriculture, The Atlas of Food maps out broad areas of investigation--contamination of food and water, overnutrition, micronutrient deficiency, processing, farming, and trade--to offer a concise overview of today's food and farming concerns.

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A starting point for research and learning that offers unlimited access to hundreds of full text reference books on every subject. Includes encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri and books of quotations.
Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new window
Contains over 100 dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works published by Oxford University Press. Also includes the Oxford Companions Series.
CultureGrams This link opens in a new window
Country reports that include local customs, basic economic and social data, politics and history, national flags, national anthems, etc. CultureGrams consists of three editions of country reports updated annually: World Edition, World Kids Edition, and States Edition.

Course Guide Example

Research Librarian

This is an example of a course guide.

Welcome

Find Background Information

Have a question? Ask a librarian! Email libref@stetson.edu. Call or text 386-747-9028.