Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Music Education

Research Guide for students studying music education.

Education Database

Specialized Databases for Music

Reference databases for general music topics:

Locating scores - bibliographic and purchase information:

Information on the music industry:

Transpositions source:

Transcriptions and translations of opera and song texts:

Using OneSearch to find articles

In OneSearch on the library's website, click Articles, enter keywords, and change Libraries everywhere to Stetson, and click the search icon.

 

Results of Articles search in OneSearch

Note the large number of Articles (including book chapters) retrieved.  music education filtered to articles - results page


To limit to recently published peer-reviewed articles, select the Peer Reviewed filter and click on Last 5 Years on the left. To further refine your search results, add additional keywords in the search box above the results, e.g. band.

 

articles filtered to peer-reviewed and published in the last 5 years

Using the Journals List for targeted searching from known journals

The default search is Starts withEnter a journal title that you know, e.g., Journal of Research in Music Education, and click the search icon.

On the right, note the availability of full-text articles from this journal in various databases available through our library subscriptions.  Pay attention to the yars of coverage of each database.  You may have to try more than one to find the article you need. 


If you can't get to the full-text, click on the Report a broken link link and fill out the form. Library personnel investigate and get back to you.

Have a question? Ask a librarian! Email libref@stetson.edu. Call or text 386-747-9028.