Guides: AFST 343V: Soul Food Throughout the African Diaspora: Finding books and articles

Finding books and articles

To locate books, ebooks, and articles in our library, use OneSearch.

OneSearch This link opens in a new window
Filter to Stetson Library to search the collections of the duPont-Ball Library.

To find books, select the format Book.
Some of the books will be in these call number sections:

GT - Manners and Customs -- GT 2350
TX - Home economics -- TX 715

Finding items in the library
Where to locate tangible items in the duPont-Ball Library.

To find articles, search these databases, in addition to OneSearch.

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
You can limit your search results to African Studies and African American Studies.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Full text access to the journals: Callaloo, MELUS: Multi-Ethnic Literature of the U.S., Histoire sociale/Social history, Journal of American Folklore, Southern Cultures, and more.
SocINDEX with Full Text (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
A sociology research database with full-text for many journals dating back to 1895.
African American Experience This link opens in a new window
Includes articles on foodways and recipes.
Includes hundreds of primary documents: manuscripts, speeches, court cases, quotations, advertisements, statistics, and other papers; More than 4,000 interviews with former slaves, including the WPA slave narratives from the acclaimed The American Slave: A Composite Autobiography; Sixty-seven Negro University Press texts from the late 1700s to the early 1970s classics in black scholarship. Other Features: In their Own Voices (audio clips, such as interviews with former slaves and music files). Links to vetted Web sites. Lesson plans, directly tied to associated primary source documents and images, and other classroom resources. Hundreds and hundreds of photographs, maps, and other images.

Feeding America: Historic American Cookbook Project (Michigan State University)
Browse a collection of digitized cookbooks. Includes cookbooks with ethnic influences and regional cookbooks.

To search for a specific journal title, use the Journals List, linked below.

Journals List This link opens in a new window
List of journals to which the library subscribes. Provides links to databases and the years covered in each database. Gives information about print and microfilm access in Stetson's duPont-Ball Library.

Using the Journals List
Research Guide with instructions for using the Journals List to find online or print journals.

Explore related Research Guides if you want to expand your options.

Africana Studies
by Kellie Pait Last Updated Mar 14, 2024 16 views this year
Sociology
by Kellie Pait Last Updated Mar 19, 2024 37 views this year
History: World
by Kellie Pait Last Updated Mar 14, 2024 13 views this year
English, American, and World Literature
by Jennifer Corbin Last Updated Jan 8, 2024 22 views this year