Not sure if your article is peer reviewed? Look for these clues:
Author. The author's credentials & institution should be listed. Authors of peer reviewed articles typically have graduate degrees and are a faculty member at a university.
Abstract. Many peer reviewed articles begin with an abstract, which is a paragraph summarizing the research.
Audience. Peer reviewed articles are written for scholars, researchers, & students who are knowledgeable about the topic, and likely use specialized terminology.
Purpose. What is the purpose of the article? Does the author want to support findings of a research project, present a case study, make an argument that is supported by evidence or research, etc.?
References. Peer reviewed articles typically include a bibliography that cites other peer reviewed sources.
Have a question about finding peer-reviewed journal articles? Getting a book that our library doesn't have? Getting started with research in general?
 |
Call or text 386.747.9028 |
The library subscribes to more than 50 journals covering the published periodical literature on topics related to human rights. Here are some examples of journal titles available in library databases. Use the Journals List to check the library's holdings of a specific journal. The Journals List provides the dates of coverage for journal titles and links to the database(s) where full text articles are available.
A multidisciplinary database with full-text articles in the arts, business, health, medicine, history, science, technology, social sciences. Includes scholarly articles, professional publication, and magazines.
An archive of scholarly journals. Content spans many disciplines, primarily in the humanities and social sciences. The most recent 3-5 years of journals are generally not available. JSTOR has a number of other collections to which we do not subscribe. Provided through a cooperative agreement with Stetson's College of Law Library.
ABSEES is an EBSCHOhost database that covers North American scholarship on Eastern Europe, Russia, and the former Soviet Union. It contains bibliographic records for journal articles, books, book chapters, book reviews, dissertations, and selected government publications.
Comprehensive collection of historic and current congressional information, including bills & laws, hearings, CRS reports, committee prints, reports, and the Congressional Record. Congressional Documents (1789-Present), Congressional Hearings (1824-Present), Congressional Record (1873-1997), Congressional Research Reports (1916-2003), Serial Set (1789-Present), Serial Set Maps (1789-1969).
This link opens in a new windowScholarly articles and other materials on topics related to gender.