Guides: Genealogy Research: Archives & Websites

Web Resources

Archives

An archive is a collection of historical documents or records providing information about a place, institution, or group of people. Many archives contain records that are useful in genealogy research. Each archive may have some records that are publicly available online, and other records that are not.

National Archives Resources for Genealogists
The National Archives preserves records of the federal government. Principal records of genealogical interest include: census records, passenger arrival (immigration) records, naturalization records, land records, and military records. Not all records are digitized- scroll to the bottom of the page to see a list of collections that are available online.
NARA- Access to Archival Databases
Browse by category Genealogy/Personal History
A Guide to Genealogical Research at the State Archives of Florida
The State Archives of Florida preserves records of the state of Florida. This page provides a list of collections that may be useful for genealogy research. All of the collections on this page are available online, but significantly more material is available for in-person research at their facility in Tallahassee.
List of State Archives
Most states have a state archive. Check the site for the state your ancestor is from to see if they have any useful records online.
UK National Archives
Over 32 million descriptions of records held by The National Archives and more than 2,500 archives across the United Kingdom.
Stetson University Archives
The University Archives contains papers, books, publications, press clippings, photographs, yearbooks, the campus newspaper, and other items relating to Stetson University and its history.

Websites

There are many free websites that may be useful for researching your ancestors. Here are some links that may help you get started. Disclaimer: these sites are not provided by the duPont-Ball Library and we cannot guarantee their accuracy or reliability. They are placed here for your convenience only.

Findagrave.com
Search millions of grave records.
Familysearch.org
FamilySearch claims to have "the largest collection of genealogical and historical records in the world." The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints is the primary benefactor for FamilySearch services. It is free but you must sign up for an account.
JewishGen.org
Useful for both Jewish and East European genealogy. Free but you must register for an account.
AfriGeneas
AfriGeneas is a site devoted to African American genealogy, to researching African Ancestry in the Americas in particular and to genealogical research and resources in general.
Reclaiming Kin
Tips on genealogy skills for all including researching slavery and the slaved.
10 Databases for Researching Enslaved Ancestors
ThoughCo.com offers a listing of 10 websites that facilitate genealogical research of enslaved individuals, offering valuable resources and tools to uncover their histories and connect with ancestral roots.
Helpful International Websites
List of links to genealogy websites in a variety of countries.
Ellis Island Records (1892-1924)
Free but you must register to view complete records.
Finding Passenger Lists & Immigration Records 1820-1940s
Arrivals at U.S. ports from Europe
Genealogia Nuestra
This website describes genealogy resources for the Caribbean, Central America, and South America.
Top 5 Irish Genealogy research websites
www.knowwhowearsthegenesinyourfamily.com lists free websites used to explore Irish family history.

Genealogy Research

Web Resources

Have a question? Ask a librarian! Email libref@stetson.edu. Call or text 386-747-9028.