Before you can find a source for your assignment, you'll need to decide where you are going to look. Everyone knows about Google, but did you know there are many other online search tools? The duPont-Ball Library subscribes to over 250 databases. Each database has a unique collection of information, often with a specific type of content or subject area. Browse our list to select the best one for your needs. If you're not sure, OneSearch is a good starting point.
A broad, general full-text database that includes both popular and scholarly periodicals. It covers virtually all academic areas of study, including social sciences, sciences, and humanities.
| Did you get too many search results? Try this: |
| Add additional keywords- (ex: college AND stress AND academics) |
| Choose more specific search terms- (ex: hiking AND DeLand instead of hiking AND central Florida) |
| Exclude words from your search results- (ex: travel NOT “time travel”) |
| Use search filters- limit by source type, date of publication, language, subject, & more. |
| Choice of database- select a database with a narrower scope of subject matter |
| Search by subject- search for your terms as a subject instead of as a keyword |
| Didn't get enough search results? Try this: |
| Choice of keywords- choosing the right keywords is key. Try experimenting with different terms. (ex: Movie OR cinema OR film OR motion picture) |
| Too narrow topic- try looking for sources on a broader, related topic (ex: hiking AND central Florida instead of hiking AND DeLand) |
| Too many search terms- begin with 1-2 search terms that best represent your topic, then add more as needed. Avoid long phrases. |
| Too many search filters- avoid using any filters that are unnecessary |
| Choice of database- select a database with a broader scope of subject matter |
| Use wildcard & truncation symbols- *, #, ? Allow you to search for multiple spellings of a term |
Chart taken from Honors College Co-Curricular Workshops LibGuide, Lone Star College Library, Kingwood, TX