Guides: Asian Studies: Asian Studies

Welcome and Definitions

Definition - Asian Studies
Definition from Gale's World of Sociology.

This guide provides information about the resources available in the duPont-Ball Libary and on the web related to Asian Studies.

Search tips for finding books, ebooks, journal articles and other materials are covered.

The library also provides research services to help you find and use the information you need.

Ask a Librarian
- Call or text 386-747-9028 or email libref@stetson.edu with any questions.
Request a Research Consultation
- Make an appointment with a librarian for personalized assistance.

Best Bet Resources for Articles

Academic Search Complete (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
A broad, general full-text database that includes both popular and scholarly periodicals. It covers virtually all academic areas of study, including social sciences, sciences, and humanities.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
An archive of scholarly journals. Content spans many disciplines, primarily in the humanities and social sciences. The most recent 3-5 years of journals are generally not available. JSTOR has a number of other collections to which we do not subscribe. Provided through a cooperative agreement with Stetson's College of Law Library.
Social Sciences Citation Index This link opens in a new window
Provides author, keyword, and cited reference searching to thousands of leading social sciences journals, in many cases with searchable abstracts plus links to e-journal images. One of the Web of Science databases. Coverage: 2000 - present.
Arts & Humanities Citation Index This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary index covering the journal literature of the arts and humanities. A component of Web of Science. Coverage: 1976 - present.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Complete, full-text versions of scholarly journals from many of the world's leading university presses and scholarly societies.
ProQuest Research Library This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary database with full-text articles in the arts, business, health, medicine, history, science, technology, social sciences. Includes scholarly articles, professional publication, and magazines.
Gale Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
A collection of news, magazine articles, and academic journal articles on a variety of topics.
eScholarship This link opens in a new window
Open-Access scholarly publishing services to the University of California and delivers a dynamic research platform to scholars worldwide.

Digital Archive (Primary Source)

Japanese-American Relocation Camp Newspapers: Perspectives on Day-to-Day Life This link opens in a new window
This digital collection of Japanese relocation camp newspapers record the concerns and the day-to-day life of the interned Japanese-Americans.
Although articles in these files frequently appear in Japanese, most of the papers are in English or in dual text. Many of the 25 titles constituting this collection are complete or substantially complete. Editions have been carefully collated and omissions are noted. A sampling of titles include:Rohwer Outpost, Poston Chronicle, Gila News Courier, Tulean Dispatch, Granada Pioneer, Minndoka Irrigator, Topaz Times, Manzanar Free Press, Denson Tribune, and Heart Mountain Sentinel.

Asian Studies

Learn more about ...

Reference Librarian

Welcome and Definitions

Best Bet Resources for Articles

Digital Archive (Primary Source)

Have a question? Ask a librarian! Email libref@stetson.edu. Call or text 386-747-9028.