Database A regularly updated digital file of information related to a specific subject or field, consisting of records of uniform format organized for ease and speed of search and retrieval.
Library database Information in library databases is typically bibliographic in nature and licensed (paid for) by the library. A library database may include bibliographic records, abstracts, full-text documents, directory entries, images, statistics, etc.
Metadata Structured information describing information resources or objects. Many library databases search metadata to provide search results.
Controlled vocabulary An established list of preferred terms assigned as subject headings or descriptors in a database record. Controlled vocabulary is part of the metadata used to describe information in library databases.
Definitions adapted from Reitz, J.M. (2014) ODLIS: Online Dictionary for Library and Information Science. ABC-CLIO, https://products.abc-clio.com/ODLIS/odlis_d
Image from https://dataedo.com/kb/data-glossary/what-is-metadata
Pearl growing involves finding a relevant citation in a database and using keywords, subject descriptors, and themes from the citation in subsequent searches.
A search for CTE in the ERIC database included this result. The highlighted words, which also describe the concept career and technical education (CTE) may be useful in future searches.
A search for vocational education in the SU Descriptors field includes results for CTE, Career and Technical Education.
One way to find relevant articles is to raid the bibliography or works cited section.
Links to sources are built into some websites (see article linked below).
When links are not built in to the text, use Google, Google Scholar, or OneSearch to search for the citations. Here's an example:
If you've mined the works cited list of a relevant article, you might notice that all sources the author used were published before the relevant articles' publication date. To find more sources that are published more recently, find the sources that cite the article.
Search Google Scholar to find "future" sources that cite the article you already have.
This link opens in a new window